The Embalmer

Author: Vincent Zandri

Category: Horror & Paranormal

Regular price: $3.99

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: June 24, 2024

Deal ends: June 24, 2024

Description:

THE EMBALMER IS DYING TO DATE YOU. QUESTION IS, ARE YOU WILLING TO DIE FOR A DATE WITH HIM TOO?You might think that a guy with the name of Steve Jobz would be one lucky man. That he'd be rich and have the world at his fingertips. But instead, Jobz (which is short for Jobzynski) is barely making ends meet at the New York State Department of Unemployment Insurance Fraud. A former cop who was forced to retire early after shooting a young man during a convenience store holdup, Jobz has since resigned himself to wasting away his days in a four-by-four cubicle inside an office space that's more boring than watching the paint dry.However, when his overbearing boss and best friend calls him in on a job that the Albany Police Department is heading up, Jobz has a chance to get out of the office for a while. But what he doesn't realize is that he's about to come face to face with a serial killer who embalms his victims alive. What he is also about to face down, is his own worst nightmare come true when that serial killer turns out not to be a stranger.The Embalmer culminates with an explosive climax and promises to keep readers glued to their chairs for hours. The first-in-series novel combines horror with some serious hard-boiled action, adventure, and romance. For fans of Michael Connelly, Robert B. Parker, Charlie Huston, Jim Crumley, Lee Child, Brett Battles, and more.Scroll up and grab a copy of The Embalmer today. Then binge the entire series."Gritty, fast-paced, lyrical and haunting." - Harlan Coben, New York Times bestselling author of Six Years."Tough, stylish, heartbreaking." -Don Winslow, New York Times bestselling author of Savages.

Mother Knows Best

Author:

Category: Horror & Paranormal

Regular price: $5.99

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: June 24, 2024

Deal ends: June 24, 2024

Description:

New and exclusive short stories and poems inspired by bad mothers from some of today' s fiercest women in horror. Featuring Rachel Harrison, Gwendolyn Kiste, Kristi DeMeester, and Kelsea Yu, edited by Lindy Ryan with a foreword by Sadie “ Mother Horror” Hartmann.From mama trauma to smother mother, this all-new women in horror anthology features stories about the scariest monster of them all— our mothers. "Twisted caregiving and inescapably tainted love abound in this intimate and visceral anthology from editor Ryan... These chilling tales impress." — Publishers Weekly STARRED REVIEW “ Deliciously evocative and revealing...Not for the faint of heart.” — Midwest Book Review

The Remaking

Author: Clay Chapman

Category: Horror & Paranormal

Regular price: $14.99

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: June 23, 2024

Deal ends: June 23, 2024

Description:

“Absolutely chilling.”—Mallory O'Meara, author of The Lady from the Black Lagoon

Inspired by a true story, this supernatural thriller for fans of horror and true crime follows a tale as it evolves every twenty years—with terrifying results.

In the 1930s, Ella Louise and her daughter Jessica are dragged from their home at the outskirts of Pilot’s Creek, Virginia, in the middle of the night. Ella Louise is accused of using her apothecary for witchcraft, and both are burned at the stake. Ella Louise’s burial site is never found, but the little girl has the most famous grave in the South: a steel-reinforced coffin surrounded by a fence of interconnected white crosses. Some wonder: If the mother was the witch, why is Jessica’s grave so tightly sealed? This question fuels a legend as their story is told around a campfire in the 1950s by a man forever marked by his boyhood encounters with Jessica. Decades later, a boy at that campfire will cast Amber Pendleton as Jessica in a ’70s horror movie inspired by the Witch Girl of Pilot’s Creek. Amber’s experiences on the set and its meta-remake in the ’90s will ripple through pop culture, ruining her life and career after she becomes the target of a witch hunt herself.Amber’s best chance to break the cycle of horror comes when a true-crime investigator tracks her down to interview her for his popular podcast. But will this final act of storytelling redeem her—or will it bring the story full circle, ready to be told once again. And again. And again . . .

The Girl from the Well

Author: Rin Chupeco

Category: Horror & Paranormal

Regular price: $7.69

Deal price: $1.99

Deal starts: June 22, 2024

Deal ends: June 22, 2024

Description:

"[A] Stephen Kinglike horror story...A chilling, bloody ghost story that resonates."— KirkusFrom the highly acclaimed author of the Bone Witch trilogy comes a chilling story of a Japanese ghost looking for vengeance and the boy who has no choice but to trust her, lauded as a "a fantastically creepy story sure to keep readers up at night" (RT Book Reviews)I am where dead children go.Okiku is a lonely soul. She has wandered the world for centuries, freeing the spirits of the murdered-dead. Once a victim herself, she now takes the lives of killers with the vengeance they're due. But releasing innocent ghosts from their ethereal tethers does not bring Okiku peace. Still she drifts on.Such is her existence, until she meets Tark. Evil writhes beneath the moody teen's skin, trapped by a series of intricate tattoos. While his neighbors fear him, Okiku knows the boy is not a monster. Tark needs to be freed from the malevolence that clings to him. There's just one problem: if the demon dies, so does its host.Suspenseful and creepy, The Girl from the Well is perfect for readers looking forSpooky books for young adultsJapanese horror novelsGhost stories for teensEast Asian folklorePraise for The Girl from the Well"There's a superior creep factor that is pervasive in every lyrical word of Chupeco's debut, and it's perfect for teens who enjoy traditional horror movies...the story is solidly scary and well worth the read." — Booklist"Chupeco makes a powerful debut with this unsettling ghost story...told in a marvelously disjointed fashion from Okiku's numbers-obsessed point of view, this story unfolds with creepy imagery and an intimate appreciation for Japanese horror, myth, and legend." — Publishers Weekly STARRED review"It hit all the right horror notes with me, and I absolutely recommend it to fans looking for a good scare. " — The Book Smugglers

Fantastic Tales

Author: Italo Calvino

Category: Horror & Paranormal

Regular price: $7.69

Deal price: $1.99

Deal starts: June 21, 2024

Deal ends: June 21, 2024

Description:

The acclaimed author presents “a rich and wide-ranging anthology” of 19th century fantasy and horror stories—with an original introduction for each (Library Journal).   Vampires, ghosts, and other horrors abound in this collection of nineteenth-century fantastic literature, selected and edited by Italo Calvino, a twentieth-century master of the speculative. As Calvino explains in his introduction to this collection, “the true theme of the nineteenth-century fantastic tale is the reality of what we see: to believe or not to believe in phantasmagoric apparitions, to glimpse another world, enchanted or infernal, behind everyday appearances.”   This anthology of twenty-six enchanting, uncanny, terrifying, and immortally entertaining short stories includes E.T.A. Hoffmann’s “The Sandman,” Nikolai Gogol’s “The Nose,” Edgar Allan Poe’s “The Tell-Tale Heart,” Robert Louis Stevenson’s “The Bottle Imp,” and many more, each with a introduction by Calvino.  “Impressive and utterly pleasing…Each story [Calvino] picks is absorbing, unique, and continually surprising.”—Los Angeles Times

Killing With the Edge of the Moon

Author: A.A. Attanasio

Category: Horror & Paranormal

Regular price: $7.99

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: June 20, 2024

Deal ends: June 20, 2024

Description:

Mama’s boy Chester Hubert drums up the courage to ask a witch’s granddaughter to the school dance—and finds himself hurtling through a modern, demonic fairy tale.

Quiet, elfin Flannery is not like other kids. She has caught the attention of the faerie, beautiful wicked creatures from a mysterious Otherworld. They seduce their victims at midnight raves, then feed them to a dragon. For sport, they hunt souls with a black dog of prodigious evil. And they have taken Flannery for one of their own.

Thrust together in the Otherworld’s dark enchantment, Flannery and Chester discover they know each other better than they know their own hearts ... but can they sort things out before the black dog finds them?

And what was that about a dragon?