A World to Win

Author: Upton Sinclair

Category: Historical Fiction

Regular price: $12.99

Deal price: $2.99

Deal starts: October 06, 2022

Deal ends: October 06, 2022

Description:

Presidential Agent 103 is targeted by allies and enemies alike as the Nazis roll across Europe in this novel in the Pulitzer Prize–winning series.

Europe, 1940. As war rages across the continent, America watches anxiously from the sidelines. And President Franklin Roosevelt has been keeping an even closer eye on developments in the Third Reich. At the president’s personal request, Lanny Budd gained the confidence of the Nazi high command and began transmitting valuable information back to the White House.   Espionage is a dangerous game, however, and Presidential Agent 103 soon finds himself a target of the French Resistance fighters he is attempting to assist. On a trip to London, Lanny avoids death during a Luftwaffe bombing raid and takes part in the capture of Rudolf Hess. He gets stranded in Asia and is forced to make his way across war-torn China after the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor finally brings the United States into the global melee. But Lanny’s most important mission still lies before him: He must enter the lion’s den alone and unprotected once more to unearth the Nazi Party’s most deeply buried secret—the progress of Hitler’s scientists in the race to build the atom bomb.  

A World to Win

is the electrifying seventh chapter of the Pulitzer Prize–winning series that brings the first half of the twentieth century to vivid life. An astonishing mix of history, adventure, and romance, the Lanny Budd Novels are a testament to the breathtaking scope of Upton Sinclair’s vision and his singular talents as a storyteller.

Surviving Savannah

Author: Patti Callahan

Category: Historical Fiction

Regular price: $9.99

Deal price: $1.99

Deal starts: October 06, 2022

Deal ends: October 06, 2022

Description:

"An atmospheric, compelling story of survival, tragedy, the enduring power of myth and memory, and the moments that change one's life." 

--Kristin Hannah, #1

New York Times

bestselling author of

The Four Winds

 

"[An] enthralling and emotional tale...A story about strength and fate."--

Woman's World

 

An epic novel that explores the metal of human spirit in crisis. It is an expertly told, fascinating story that runs fathoms deep on multiple levels.”—New York Journal of Books 

It was called "The

Titanic

of the South." The luxury steamship sank in 1838 with Savannah's elite on board; through time, their fates were forgotten--until the wreck was found, and now their story is finally being told in this breathtaking novel from the

New York Times

bestselling author of

Becoming Mrs. Lewis

.

When Savannah history professor Everly Winthrop is asked to guest-curate a new museum collection focusing on artifacts recovered from the steamship

Pulaski

, she's shocked. The ship sank after a boiler explosion in 1838, and the wreckage was just discovered, 180 years later. Everly can't resist the opportunity to try to solve some of the mysteries and myths surrounding the devastating night of its sinking.Everly's research leads her to the astounding history of a family of eleven who boarded the

Pulaski

together, and the extraordinary stories of two women from this family: a known survivor, Augusta Longstreet, and her niece, Lilly Forsyth, who was never found, along with her child. These aristocratic women were part of Savannah's society, but when the ship exploded, each was faced with difficult and heartbreaking decisions. This is a moving and powerful exploration of what women will do to endure in the face of tragedy, the role fate plays, and the myriad ways we survive the surviving.

The German Wife

The German Wife by Kelly Rimmer

Author: Kelly Rimmer

Category: Historical Fiction

Regular price: $12.99

Deal price: $6.99

Deal starts: October 05, 2022

Deal ends: October 05, 2022

Description:

“Skillfully researched and powerfully written, The German Wife will capture you from the first page.” —Madeline Martin, New York Times bestselling author of The Last Bookshop in London
The New York Times bestselling author of The Warsaw Orphan returns with a gripping novel inspired by the true story of Operation Paperclip: a controversial secret US intelligence program that employed former Nazis after WWII.
Berlin, 1930—When a wave of change sweeps a radical political party to power, Sofie von Meyer Rhodes’s academic husband benefits from the ambitions of its newly elected chancellor. Although Sofie and Jürgen do not share the social views growing popular in Hitler’s Germany, Jürgen’s position with its burgeoning rocket program changes their diminishing fortunes for the better. But as Sofie watches helplessly, her beloved Berlin begins to transform, forcing her to consider what they must sacrifice morally for their young family’s security, and what the price for their neutrality will be.
Twenty years later, Jürgen is one of the many German scientists offered pardons for their part in the war, and taken to America to work for its fledgling space program. For Sofie, this is the chance to exorcise the ghosts that have followed her across the ocean, and make a fresh start in her adopted country. But her neighbors aren’t as welcoming or as understanding as she had hoped. When scandalous rumors about the Rhodes family’s affiliation with Hitler’s regime spreads, idle gossip turns to bitter rage, and the act of violence that results will tear apart Sofie’s community and her family before the truth is finally revealed.
“An unforgettable novel that explores important questions highly relevant to the world today.” —Christine Wells, author of Sisters of the Resistance

A Strange Beginning

Author: Gretta Curran Browne

Category: Historical Fiction

Regular price: $4.99

Deal price: Free

Deal starts: October 05, 2022

Deal ends: October 05, 2022

Description:

THE BOY, THE MAN, THE LEGEND"Will seduce the reader right off the bat." -- Perfect for fans of 'Poldark' and 'Downton Abbey' -- READERS' FAVORITE Book Award Winner Finalist IAN BOOK OF THE YEAR AWARD for Outstanding Historical Fiction He was later to become known as "The most beautiful and most famous man in England" -- but not yet.... Beginning when he is a boy of ten years old, we join George Gordon when he is living a miserable life with his manic Scottish mother in a few rented rooms above a shop in Aberdeen, unaware that his true heritage is with the English aristocracy - who soon come to claim him. A life of wealth and privilege is then bestowed upon him, which eventually sets the stage for him to prove his own individual worth, in his own way, and in his own time.Meticulously researched, and adapted into novel form, 'A Strange Beginning' is the first of a series of books about the most iconic young man of his time, whose fame still lives on today. "My name alone shall be my epitaph." -- BYRON Although presented here in novel form and cloaked in the style of fiction, this is the true and meticulously researched story of the most iconic superstar of his time - Lord Byron. Ignoring all the old unproven rumours and sensational scandals fabricated at the time - which have since been regurgitated by biographers of every generation - all the events in this book come from the people who physically were THERE with Byron at the time. If they were not there, and did not write about it, or were not eyewitnesses to the events - they are not included in this book.

The Paris Wife

Author: Paula McLain

Category: Historical Fiction

Regular price: $11.99

Deal price: $3.99

Deal starts: October 05, 2022

Deal ends: October 05, 2022

Description:

NEW YORK TIMES

BESTSELLER • A deeply evocative novel of ambition and betrayal that captures the love affair between two unforgettable people, Ernest Hemingway and his wife Hadley—from the author of

Love and Ruin

and

When the Stars Go Dark

 “A beautiful portrait of being in Paris in the glittering 1920s—as a wife and as one’s own woman.”—

Entertainment Weekly

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY

People

Chicago Tribune •

NPR •

The Philadelphia Inquirer • Kirkus Reviews • The Toronto Sun • BookPage

Chicago, 1920: Hadley Richardson is a quiet twenty-eight-year-old who has all but given up on love and happiness—until she meets Ernest Hemingway. Following a whirlwind courtship and wedding, the pair set sail for Paris, where they become the golden couple in a lively and volatile group—the fabled “Lost Generation”—that includes Gertrude Stein, Ezra Pound, and F. Scott Fitzgerald.   Though deeply in love, the Hemingways are ill prepared for the hard-drinking, fast-living, and free-loving life of Jazz Age Paris. As Ernest struggles to find the voice that will earn him a place in history and pours himself into the novel that will become

The Sun Also Rises,

Hadley strives to hold on to her sense of self as her roles as wife, friend, and muse become more challenging. Eventually they find themselves facing the ultimate crisis of their marriage—a deception that will lead to the unraveling of everything they’ve fought so hard for.   A heartbreaking portrayal of love and torn loyalty,

The Paris Wife

is all the more poignant because we know that, in the end, Hemingway wrote that he would rather have died than fallen in love with anyone but Hadley.

The Swift and the Harrier

The Swift and the Harrier by Minette Walters

Author: Minette Walters

Category: Historical Fiction

Regular price: $5.99

Deal price: $1.99

Deal starts: October 04, 2022

Deal ends: October 04, 2022

Description:

A Library Journal Editor's Pick of Historical Fiction
A sweeping historical adventure set during one of the most turbulent periods of British history—featuring a heroine you’ll never forget ...
Dorset, 1642.
When bloody civil war breaks out between the king and Parliament, families and communities across England are riven by different allegiances.
A rare few choose neutrality.
One such is Jayne Swift, a Dorset physician from a Royalist family, who offers her services to both sides in the conflict. Through her dedication to treating the sick and wounded, regardless of belief, Jayne becomes a witness to the brutality of war and the devastation it wreaks.
Yet her recurring companion at every event is a man she should despise because he embraces civil war as the means to an end. She knows him as William Harrier, but is ignorant about every other aspect of his life. His past is a mystery and his future uncertain.
The Swift and the Harrier is a sweeping tale of adventure and loss, sacrifice and love, with a unique and unforgettable heroine at its heart.