The Forgotten Gift

Author: Kathleen McGurl

Category: Historical Fiction

Regular price: $5.99

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: January 21, 2021

Deal ends: January 21, 2021

Description:

‘Be ready to be wowed and amazed and lose sleep as you stay up to reach the last pages!… You absolutely must read it!’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 starsWhat would you do to protect the ones you love?1861. George’s life changes forever the day he meets Lucy. She’s beautiful and charming, and he sees a future with her that his position as the second son in a wealthy family has never offered him. But when Lucy dies in a suspected poisoning days after rejecting George, he finds himself swept up into a murder investigation. George loved Lucy; he would never have harmed her. So who did?Now. On the surface Cassie is happy with her life: a secure job, good friends, and a loving family. When a mysterious gift in a long-forgotten will leads her to a dark secret in her family’s history she’s desperate to learn more. But the secrets in Cassie’s family aren’t all hidden in the past, and her research will soon lead her to a revelation much closer to home – and which will turn everything she knows on its head…Discover a family’s darkest secrets today. Perfect for fans of The Girl in the Letter, The Beekeeper’s Promise and The Forgotten Village!Readers love The Forgotten Gift!‘Excellent… I read it in one fell swoop… Utterly engrossing and responsible for the fact that I went to bed well after my usual bedtime.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars‘Fast paced and very well written story… Impossible to put down… Loved it.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars‘The queen of dual timelines has done it again.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars‘I was completely transfixed… Didn't want to put it down once I'd started it. It was finished within a day.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars‘The writing is fantastic. The pace fast. The plot gripping.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars‘I enjoyed this book… The story of George had a perfect ending.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars‘I really liked this book… Well written and great character development.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

A Strange Beginning

Author: Gretta Curran Browne

Category: Historical Fiction

Regular price: $3.99

Deal price: Free

Deal starts: January 20, 2021

Deal ends: January 20, 2021

Description:

"Will seduce the reader right off the bat." -- Perfect for fans of POLDARK and DOWNTON ABBEY - Readers' Favorite Book Award Winner Finalist in the IAN BOOK OF THE YEAR AWARD for Outstanding Historical Fiction He was later to become known as "The most beautiful and most famous man in England" -- but not yet....As a boy he thought his name was George Gordon, but that wasn't true. He thought he would grow up poor, but that also wasn't true. Long before he rose from obscurity to poetic stardom and became Britain's first superstar, he had learned that his true surname was Byron Although presented in Novel form and cloaked in the style of fiction,, this is the true and meticulously researched story of the most iconic superstar of his time - Lord Byron. Ignoring all the old and unproven rumours and sensational scandals fabricated at the time of the 19th Century, which have been regurgitated by biographers every generation - all the events in this book come from the people who physically were THERE with Byron at the time. If they were not there, or did not write about it, or did not see the events as eyewitnesses - they are NOT included in this book. Beginning when he is a boy of ten years old, we join George Gordon when he is living a miserable life with his manic Scottish mother in a few rented rooms above a shop in Aberdeen, unaware that his true heritage is with the English aristocracy - who soon come to claim him.A life of wealth and privilege is then bestowed upon him, which eventually sets the stage for him to prove his own individual worth, in his own way, and in his own time.Meticulously researched, and adapted into novel form, 'A Strange Beginning' is the first of a series of books about the most iconic young man of his time, whose fame still lives on today. "My name alone shall be my epitaph." -- BYRON

Recessional

Author: James A. Michener

Category: Historical Fiction

Regular price: $7.99

Deal price: $4.99

Deal starts: January 19, 2021

Deal ends: January 19, 2021

Description:

In this remarkable novel, Pulitzer Prize–winning author James A. Michener draws on his unparalleled gift for storytelling, his deep understanding of American society, and his own life experiences to illuminate the challenges of aging and the folly of youth. As the new director of a Florida retirement home known as the Palms, Andy Zorn suffers no shortage of loving support from his “elders,” a group of five passionate, outspoken residents. Still, Andy’s shortcomings tear him apart. But when he meets an extraordinary young woman who has been forced to rebuild her life after suffering crippling injuries, he finds himself falling in love. And with a few gentle jabs from his more mature friends, he discovers a wonderful new purpose in life. BONUS: This edition includes an excerpt from James A. Michener's Hawaii.

Nemesis and the Swan

Author: Lindsay Bandy

Category: Historical Fiction

Regular price: $8.99

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: January 19, 2021

Deal ends: January 19, 2021

Description:

From her prison cell in revolutionary Paris, nineteen-year-old aristocrat Hélène d’Aubign recalls the events that led her to choose between following in her parents’ unforgivable footsteps or abandoning the man she loves.Despite her world of privilege, Hélène is inspired early on by the radical ideas of her progressive governess. Though her family tries to intervene, the seeds of revolution have already been planted in Hélène’s heart, as are the seeds of love from an unlikely friendship with a young jeweler’s apprentice. Hélène’s determination to find true love is as revolutionary as her attempt to unravel the truth behind a concealed murder that tore her family apart.As violence erupts in Paris, Hélène is forced into hiding with her estranged family, where the tangled secrets of their past become entwined with her own. When she finally returns to the blood-stained streets of Paris, she finds everything—and everyone—very much changed. In a city where alliances shift overnight, no one knows whom to trust.Faced with looming war, the mystery of her family’s past, and the man she loves near death, Hélène will soon find out if doing one wrong thing will make everything right, or if it will simply push her closer to the guillotine.

A House Is a Body

Author: Shruti Swamy

Category: Historical Fiction

Regular price: $9.99

Deal price: $1.99

Deal starts: January 19, 2021

Deal ends: January 19, 2021

Description:

A Most Anticipated Book of 2020 from The Millions * Bustle * BuzzFeed * Electric Literature “Swamy’s A House Is a Body will not simply be talked about as one of the greatest short story collections of the 2020s; it will change the way all stories—short and long—are told, written, and consumed. There is nothing, no emotion, no tiny morsel of memory, no touch, that this book does not take seriously.  Yet, A House Is a Body might be the most fun I’ve ever had in a short story collection.” —Kiese Laymon, author of Heavy   Dreams collide with reality, modernity with antiquity, and myth with identity in the twelve arresting stories of A House Is a Body. In “Earthly Pleasures,” a young painter living alone in San Francisco begins a secret romance with one of India’s biggest celebrities, and desire and ego are laid bare. In “A Simple Composition,” a husband’s professional crisis leads to his wife’s discovery of a dark, ecstatic joy. And in the title story, an exhausted mother watches, hypnotized by fear, as a California wildfire approaches her home. Immersive and assured, provocative and probing, these are stories written with the edge and precision of a knife blade. Set in the United States and India, they reveal small but intense moments of beauty, pain, and power that contain the world.A House Is a Body introduces a bold and original voice in fiction, from a writer at the start of a stellar career.

The Jane Austen Society

Author: Natalie Jenner

Category: Historical Fiction

Regular price: $13.99

Deal price: $2.99

Deal starts: January 19, 2021

Deal ends: January 19, 2021

Description:

* INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER *"This novel delivers sweet, smart escapism." —People"Fans of The Chilbury Ladies’ Choir and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society will adore The Jane Austen Society… A charming and memorable debut, which reminds us of the universal language of literature and the power of books to unite and heal." —Pam Jenoff, New York Times bestselling author of The Lost Girls of ParisJust after the Second World War, in the small English village of Chawton, an unusual but like-minded group of people band together to attempt something remarkable.One hundred and fifty years ago, Chawton was the final home of Jane Austen, one of England's finest novelists. Now it's home to a few distant relatives and their diminishing estate. With the last bit of Austen's legacy threatened, a group of disparate individuals come together to preserve both Jane Austen's home and her legacy. These people—a laborer, a young widow, the local doctor, and a movie star, among others—could not be more different and yet they are united in their love for the works and words of Austen. As each of them endures their own quiet struggle with loss and trauma, some from the recent war, others from more distant tragedies, they rally together to create the Jane Austen Society.A powerful and moving novel that explores the tragedies and triumphs of life, both large and small, and the universal humanity in us all, Natalie Jenner's The Jane Austen Society is destined to resonate with readers for years to come.