I’ll Be Seeing You

I’ll Be Seeing You by Margaret Mayhew

Author: Margaret Mayhew

Category: Historical Fiction

Regular price: $1.99

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: June 22, 2021

Deal ends: June 22, 2021

Description:

An enthralling novel of love and secrets from the Second World War, perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Fiona Valpy.

READERS ARE LOVING I'LL BE SEEING YOU!
"I consider Margaret Mayhew to be an exceptional author and this is one of her best offerings!" - 5 STARS
"Exceptional story kept me enthralled until the end. I loved the way this book was written." - 5 STARS
"This is the first book I have read by Margaret Meyhew. It won't be the last." - 5 STARS
"Absolutely loved this story, so much so I just stayed up all night reading it , desperate to see how it unfolded, yet hating seeing it come to an end. So well written and researched." - 5 STARS

*********************************

WHAT IF EVERYTHING YOU BELIEVED TURNED OUT TO BE A LIE?

1992: When Juliet Porter's mother dies, she leaves her some old letters and a photograph which shatter everything Juliet thought she knew about her upbringing. Discovering her real father was an American bomber pilot who met her mother while serving in England during the Second World War, she sets out to trace him...

1944: Daisy, Juliet's mother, is in the WAAF and plans to marry the American bomber pilot she has fallen deeply in love with once his tour is over. But one day he is shot down over France and posted missing, presumed dead.

Pregnant and grieving, she marries Vernon - a long term admirer - only to discover at the end of the war that her pilot has survived...

Abdication

Abdication by Juliet Nicolson

Author: Juliet Nicolson

Category: Historical Fiction

Regular price: $12.99

Deal price: $2.99

Deal starts: June 22, 2021

Deal ends: June 22, 2021

Description:

“Goodness, Abdication really is good. I’m in awe of Juliet’s ability” (Jessica Fellowes, New York Times bestselling author of The World of Downton Abbey).

England, 1936.

A beloved king is dead, and by year’s end, the charismatic new monarch will give up his throne for love. The world is on the brink of war. And in the tumultuous intervening months, three outsiders will find themselves embroiled in the hidden truths, undeclared loves, unspoken sympathies, and covert complicities of a glittering high society in the throes of upheaval.

After a long journey from her home in Barbados, May Thomas secures a position as a secretary and driver and opens her heart to a man seemingly beyond her reach. Outwardly affable American spinster Evangeline Nettlefold finds her place in the uppermost social circles, but her growing resentment toward her childhood friend Wallis Simpson predicts disaster. A friendship catapults Julian Richardson from his mother’s middle-class parlor to luxurious dinners with the king, yet he cannot forget those who struggle outside the gilded gates, nor his uneasy affection for May.

As addictive as Downton Abbey, as poignant as The Remains of the Day, renowned historian Juliet Nicolson’s debut novel is a breathtaking story inspired by a love affair that shook the world at a time when order and chaos battled for supremacy.

The Girl from the Island

The Girl from the Island by Lorna Cook

Author: Lorna Cook

Category: Historical Fiction

Regular price: $3.99

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: June 21, 2021

Deal ends: June 21, 2021

Description:

‘Wow! What an enthralling and emotional read! I was literally in tears… Captivating.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 starsA world at war. One woman will risk everything. Another will uncover her story.1940: When the island of Guernsey is invaded by the Nazis, two sisters are determined to rebel in any way they can. But when forced to take in a German soldier, they are shocked to find a familiar face on their doorstep – a childhood friend who has now become their enemy.2016: Two generations later, Lucy returns to Guernsey after the death of a distant cousin. As she prepares the old family house for sale, Lucy discovers a box of handwritten notes, one word standing out: resistance. Lucy’s search for the author will uncover the story of a forgotten sister who vanished from the island one night, never to be seen again.A timeless story of love and bravery. Fans of Fiona Valpy and Kate Quinn will be absolutely gripped from the very first page.Readers love The Girl from the Island:‘I finished this novel last night and I cannot get it out of my head… Put the phone off the hook, pour yourself a nice hot chocolate and settle down for a wonderful read’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars‘I was gripped from the beginning and could not put it down. I lost a lot of sleep on this one and do not regret it in the slightest!!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars‘Unputdownable, passionate, captivating, and magnetic!!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars‘Absolutely brilliant… I had to stay up late to read the next chapter!! I couldn't put it down’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars‘Gripping and very emotional… This book has it all and I loved it’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars‘A heart wrenching story of love, loss and survival’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars‘A beautiful, wonderful, and poignant story’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars‘Utterly beautiful and poignant… I was blown away’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

Author: Annie Barrows, Mary Ann Shaffer

Category: Historical Fiction

Regular price: $12.99

Deal price: $4.99

Deal starts: June 20, 2021

Deal ends: June 20, 2021

Description:

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER ? NOW A NETFLIX FILM ? A remarkable tale of the island of Guernsey during the German Occupation, and of a society as extraordinary as its name.

"Treat yourself to this book, please -- I can't recommend it highly enough." -- Elizabeth Gilbert, author of Eat, Pray, Love

"I wonder how the book got to Guernsey? Perhaps there is some sort of secret homing instinct in books that brings them to their perfect readers." January 1946: London is emerging from the shadow of the Second World War, and writer Juliet Ashton is looking for her next book subject. Who could imagine that she would find it in a letter from a man she's never met, a native of the island of Guernsey, who has come across her name written inside a book by Charles Lamb...
As Juliet and her new correspondent exchange letters, Juliet is drawn into the world of this man and his friends -- and what a wonderfully eccentric world it is. The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society -- born as a spur-of-the-moment alibi when its members were discovered breaking curfew by the Germans occupying their island -- boasts a charming, funny, deeply human cast of characters, from pig farmers to phrenologists, literature lovers all.

Juliet begins a remarkable correspondence with the society's members, learning about their island, their taste in books, and the impact the recent German occupation has had on their lives. Captivated by their stories, she sets sail for Guernsey, and what she finds will change her forever.

Written with warmth and humor as a series of letters, this novel is a celebration of the written word in all its guises and of finding connection in the most surprising ways.

Praise for The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society

"A jewel... Poignant and keenly observed, Guernsey is a small masterpiece about love, war, and the immeasurable sustenance to be found in good books and good friends." -- People

"A book-lover's delight, an implicit and sometimes explicit paean to all things literary." -- Chicago Sun-Times

"A sparkling epistolary novel radiating wit, lightly worn erudition and written with great assurance and aplomb." -- The Sunday Times (London)

"Cooked perfectly à point: subtle and elegant in flavour, yet emotionally satisfying to the finish." -- The Times (London)

Elizabeth I

Elizabeth I by Margaret George

Author: Margaret George

Category: Historical Fiction

Regular price: $14.99

Deal price: $1.99

Deal starts: June 20, 2021

Deal ends: June 20, 2021

Description:

The New York Times bestseller from Margaret George—a captivating novel about history's most enthralling queen, the legendary Elizabeth I.

England’s greatest monarch has baffled and intrigued the world for centuries. But what was the Virgin Queen really like? Lettice Knollys—Elizabeth's flame-haired, look-alike coussin—thinks she knows all too well. Elizabeth’s rival for the love of Robert Dudley, Earl of Leicester, and mother to the Earl of Essex, Lettice has been intertwined with Elizabeth since childhood. 

This is a story of two women of fierce intellect and desire, one trying to protect her country and throne, the other trying to regain power and position for her family. Their rivalry, and its ensuing drama, soon involves everyone close to Elizabeth, from the famed courtiers who enriched the crown to the legendary poets and playwrights who paid homage to it with their works. 

Filled with intimate portraits of the personalities who made the Elizabethan age great—Shakespeare, Marlowe, Dudley, Raleigh, Drake—Elizabeth I provides an unforgettable glimpse of a woman who considered herself married to her people. A queen who ruled as much from the heart as from the head.

A Land More Kind Than Home

Author: Wiley Cash

Category: Historical Fiction

Regular price: $8.99

Deal price: $1.99

Deal starts: June 19, 2021

Deal ends: June 19, 2021

Description:

A mesmerizing literary thriller about the bond between two brothers and the evil they face in a small North Carolina town -- author Wiley Cash displays a remarkable talent for lyrical, powerfully emotional storytelling. A Land More Kind than Home is a modern masterwork of Southern fiction, reminiscent of the writings of John Hart (Down River), Tom Franklin (Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter), Ron Rash (Serena), and Pete Dexter (Paris Trout) -- one that is likely to be held in the same enduring esteem as such American classics as To Kill a Mockingbird, Of Mice and Men, and A Separate Peace. A brilliant evocation of a place, a heart-rending family story, a gripping and suspenseful mystery.

For a curious boy like Jess Hall, growing up in Marshall means trouble when your mother catches you spying on grown-ups. Adventurous and precocious, Jess is enormously protective of his older brother, Christopher, a mute whom everyone calls Stump. Though their mother has warned them not to snoop, Stump can't help sneaking a look at something he's not supposed to -- an act that will have catastrophic repercussions, shattering both his world and Jess's. It's a wrenching event that thrusts Jess into an adulthood for which he's not prepared. While there is much about the world that still confuses him, he now knows that a new understanding can bring not only a growing danger and evil -- but also the possibility of freedom and deliverance as well.

Told by three resonant and evocative characters -- Jess; Adelaide Lyle, the town midwife and moral conscience; and Clem Barefield, a sheriff with his own painful past -- A Land More Kind Than Home is a haunting tale of courage in the face of cruelty and the power of love to overcome the darkness that lives in us all. These are masterful portrayals, written with assurance and truth, and they show us the extraordinary promise of this remarkable first novel.