The Orphan House

The Orphan House by Ann Bennett

Author: Ann Bennett

Category: Historical Fiction

Regular price: $3.99

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: January 25, 2022

Deal ends: January 25, 2022

Description:

As she looks at the baby wriggling in her father’s arms, a bolt of recognition goes through her and she takes a step back. And it’s in that moment that she begins to protect her father’s secrets.

1934, Weirfield-on-Thames. Connie Burroughs loves living in the orphanage that her father runs. Exploring its nooks and crannies with her sister, hearing the pounding of a hundred pairs of feet on the wooden stairs, having a father who is doing so much good. But everything changes the day she sees him carrying a newborn baby that he says he found near the broken front gate. A baby she recognises…

Present day. Arriving at her father’s beloved cottage beside the river, Sarah Jennings is hoping for peace and quiet, to escape her difficult divorce. But when she finds her father unwell and hunched over boxes of files on the orphanage where he was abandoned as a child, she decides to investigate it herself.

The only person left alive who lived at Cedar Hall is Connie Burroughs, but Connie sits quietly in her nursing home for a reason. The sewing box under Connie’s bed hides secrets that will change Sarah’s life forever, uncovering a connection between them that has darker consequences than she could ever imagine.

A heartbreaking but ultimately uplifting tale inspired by the lives of the children who lived at the author’s great-grandfather’s orphanage. Fans of Before We Were Yours, The Orphan’s Tale and The Orphan Train will be hooked.

What readers are saying about The Orphan House:
‘Oh my goodness. What an amazing story of life, love, loss and finding yourself… Awe inspiring. I honestly am left reeling. This is my first book from this author, although it definitely will not be my last. Thank you for a journey that I will not soon forget.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘An amazing and spellbinding read. Exceptionally well done. I hated when it ended.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘Wonderful storytelling! I have just finished reading this book and I’m bereft! I was able, for a few days, to lose myself completely in the story… I highly recommend this book to anyone.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘What an amazing read!!! I didn't expect this to be a rollercoaster of emotions, suspense, and mystery but it was everything!!... I recommend this book so much!!!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘This book gave me all the feelings at once… Keeps you hooked through the whole book.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘If there were ever to be a perfect bookclub book, it would be The Orphan House… Beautifully portrayed characters, who were so vivid… Almost felt like watching it on the big screen, every place, person, and circumstance came to live and felt almost tangible… Will surely touch your soul.’ Goodreads reviewer

‘True to life and totally believable. The plot was intriguing, and the delivery was perfect.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘I was hooked only a few pages in to the story… I cannot say enough about this book and I hope you will love it too.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘Loved this book… captures so many emotions… Couldn’t put it down.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘This was a fantastic read… It lured me in and I ended up hooked. By about the halfway point, I was completely captivated by the story and the mystery kept me guessing as I tried to figure it out… Beautifully written.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘Oh what a wonderful book! This beautifully written story tugs at the heart strings… I lived this book, it hooked me from the first line and kept me engrossed until the last… A book to treasure and reread. A masterpiece.’ Renita D’Silva, 5 stars

This book was previously published as The Foundling’s Daughter. Read more

The Last Runaway

Author: Tracy Chevalier

Category: Historical Fiction

Regular price: $8.99

Deal price: $2.99

Deal starts: January 25, 2022

Deal ends: January 25, 2022

Description:

New York Times bestselling author of Girl With a Pearl Earring and At the Edge of the Orchard Tracy Chevalier makes her first fictional foray into the American past in The Last Runaway, bringing to life the Underground Railroad and illuminating the principles, passions and realities that fueled this extraordinary freedom movement.

Honor Bright, a modest English Quaker, moves to Ohio in 1850--only to find herself alienated and alone in a strange land. Sick from the moment she leaves England, and fleeing personal disappointment, she is forced by family tragedy to rely on strangers in a harsh, unfamiliar landscape. Nineteenth-century America is practical, precarious, and unsentimental, and scarred by the continuing injustice of slavery. In her new home Honor discovers that principles count for little, even within a religious community meant to be committed to human equality.

However, Honor is drawn into the clandestine activities of the Underground Railroad, a network helping runaway slaves escape to freedom, where she befriends two surprising women who embody the remarkable power of defiance. Eventually she must decide if she too can act on what she believes in, whatever the personal costs.

The Voyage of the Iron Dragon

Author: Robert Kroese

Category: Historical Fiction

Regular price: $4.99

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: January 25, 2022

Deal ends: January 25, 2022

Description:

Ninth century Iceland. Three explorers from the far future have a daunting mission: to save humanity, they must build a craft capable of reaching the stars. THE VOYAGE OF THE IRON DRAGON is the third installment in the 5-part Saga of the Iron Dragon. "Terrific storytelling, letter-perfect alternate-history, and the highest stakes for humanity imaginable combine to make this a thrilling start to an exciting new Viking saga. Kroese avoids both romanticizing and demonizing the Vikings, showing them to us in all their humanity, while spinning a tale that pulls no punches and leaves us gasping for more." - Lars Hedbor

The Night Portrait

The Night Portrait by Laura Morelli

Author: Laura Morelli

Category: Historical Fiction

Regular price: $10.99

Deal price: $2.99

Deal starts: January 24, 2022

Deal ends: January 24, 2022

Description:

An exciting, dual-timeline historical novel about the creation of one of Leonardo da Vinci's most famous paintings, Portrait of a Lady with an Ermine, and the woman who fought to save it from Nazi destruction during World War II. Milan, 1492: When a 16-year old beauty becomes the mistress of the Duke of Milan, she must fight for her place in the palace—and against those who want her out. Soon, she finds herself sitting before Leonardo da Vinci, who wants to ensure his own place in the ducal palace by painting his most ambitious portrait to date. Munich, World War II: After a modest conservator unwittingly places a priceless Italian Renaissance portrait into the hands of a high-ranking Nazi leader, she risks her life to recover it, working with an American soldier, part of the famed Monuments Men team, to get it back.  Two women, separated by 500 years, are swept up in the tide of history as one painting stands at the center of their quests for their own destinies. Read more

Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Once Upon a Time in Hollywood by Quentin Tarantino

Author: Quentin Tarantino

Category: Historical Fiction

Regular price: $9.99

Deal price: $3.99

Deal starts: January 24, 2022

Deal ends: January 24, 2022

Description:

Quentin Tarantino’s long-awaited first work of fiction—at once hilarious, delicious and brutal—is the always surprising, sometimes shocking, novelization of his Academy Award winning film.RICK DALTON—Once he had his own TV series, but now Rick’s a washed-up villain-of-the week drowning his sorrows in whiskey sours. Will a phone call from Rome save his fate or seal it?CLIFF BOOTH—Rick’s stunt double, and the most infamous man on any movie set because he’s the only one there who might have got away with murder. . . .SHARON TATE—She left Texas to chase a movie-star dream, and found it. Sharon’s salad days are now spent on Cielo Drive, high in the Hollywood Hills.CHARLES MANSON—The ex-con’s got a bunch of zonked-out hippies thinking he’s their spiritual leader, but he’d trade it all to be a rock ‘n’ roll star. Read more

The Lost Mother

The Lost Mother by Catherine Hokin

Author: Catherine Hokin

Category: Historical Fiction

Regular price: $3.99

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: January 23, 2022

Deal ends: January 23, 2022

Description:

‘Beautiful and heartbreaking’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
‘Captivated me from the start’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
‘Best read in a long time!!!’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
‘Haunting. Gut-wrenching’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
‘Hooked from page one’ ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Berlin, 1934. Homes once filled with laughter stand empty as the Nazi party’s grip on the city tightens. When Anna Tiegel’s impulsive act to save a friend attracts the attention of a high-ranking Nazi official, she suddenly finds herself in terrible danger. As her world closes in, Anna’s only comfort is in the hope of escape with her boyfriend Eddy, but then he shockingly disappears…

Rhode Island, 1957. Peggy Bailey stares in shock at the faded photograph of two laughing women which her beloved adoptive mother struggled to pass on to her before she died, whispering ‘It was inside your baby blanket when we brought you home’. Then Peggy realises that she has seen one of the girls before, in the most unlikely of places… Bursting at the discovery, she embarks on a mission which takes her across America to find the truth behind her heritage. Nothing, however, could prepare her for the tragic story her actions uncover, and how it will change her life forever…

A poignant and beautiful World War Two story about survival and a mother’s enduring search for her child against all the odds. A heart-breaking read for fans of The Tattooist of Auschwitz, We Were the Lucky Ones and The Alice Network.

What readers are saying about The Lost Mother:
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘My heart aches for these characters and the life they endured! So well written and I hated for it to be over!!!!’ NetGalley reviewer

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Absolutely heartbreaking. It’s beautifully written… I couldn’t put it down. Such an amazing rollercoaster of emotions. Have your tissues ready. Highly recommended.’ Goodreads reviewer

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘One of the best historical fiction/WWII books I’ve had the pleasure of reading… I couldn’t put it down… If you loved The Tattooist of Auschwitz or We Were The Lucky Ones, this is the book for you.’ NetGalley reviewer

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Haunting. Gut wrenching… I feel like I have been on an emotional rollercoaster.’ Goodreads reviewer

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Loved it!!! Heartbreaking. I was sad to see the book end… Beautiful and heartbreaking.’ NetGalley reviewer

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘This book was fantastic… This is a totally heart-wrenching read… Anyone who loves the work of authors such as Kristen Hannah or Marie Benedict will adore this book. I give it 5 out of 5 stars.’ My Cat Reads

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘This book is so, so, so good.’ Goodreads reviewer

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Fabulous book – the author weaves an incredible story and I couldn’t put it down until I was finished. Dying to read her next book already.’ NetGalley reviewer

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Beautifully written… will pull at your heart strings… It is an inspiring and emotional read and one I highly recommend for anyone who enjoys a really gripping story.’ Christian Novel Review

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Heartbreaking.’ NetGalley reviewer

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘A richly rewarding novel that draws readers in from the first few pages… I loved this story and will be recommending it to everyone.’ Goodreads reviewer

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Should be on every historical fiction lover’s ‘must-have’ list.’ NetGalley reviewer

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘This book is one of the most riveting WWII fiction stories that I have read. … So heartbreaking, but Catherine Hokin captures the resilience of the human spirit… Truly, an emotional book.’ NetGalley reviewer
Read more