On Hadrian’s Secret Service

Author: Gavin Chappell

Category: Historical Fiction

Regular price: $0.99

Deal price: Free

Deal starts: September 19, 2020

Deal ends: September 19, 2020

Description:

In a murky world of mystery and espionage, a Roman soldier discovers a plot to murder Emperor Hadrian... ‘…a very solid book, enjoyable to read and thrilling to follow…’ Koit (Goodreads reviewer) AD 120. A new emperor is on the throne. In Britain, Gaius Flaminius Drusus, auxiliary tribune of the Ninth Legion, survives an attack by barbarians only to find himself flung into a world of mystery and intrigue when he is seconded to the Roman secret service. Plots and counterplots are brewing. The sinister Caledonian druids are planning something. But also acting suspiciously is the Roman governor, Falco.When he uncovers a plan to assassinate the emperor, Flaminius finds himself outlawed and on the run. Accompanied by a Celtic warrior woman he sets out on an epic journey from the edges of empire to its pulsing heart, followed by a final chase through the secret tunnels beneath Hadrian’s Villa. And disaster strikes when it is least expected…The first in a series, ON HADRIAN’S SECRET SERVICE is a gripping story of espionage and conspiracy, - for fans of Simon Scarrow, Ben Kane, Harry Sidebottom, and Conn Iggulden.More praise for ON HADRIAN’S SECRET SERVICE:‘…a good novel of the genre…’ Brian Turner (Goodreads reviewer) ‘I felt as if I was in the middle of the action…’ James Brown (Amazon reviewer)‘Hard to put the book down…’ Robert C Cusick (Amazon reviewer)

Tidewater

Author: Libbie Hawker

Category: Historical Fiction

Regular price: $3.99

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: September 18, 2020

Deal ends: September 18, 2020

Description:

A clash of desire and hatred, of friendship and fear, of stark ambition and desperate survival.In 1607, three ships arrive on the coast of Virginia to establish Jamestown Colony. Their only hope of survival lies with the Powhatan tribe. John Smith knows this. He knows, too, that the Powhatans would rather see the English starve to death than yield their homeland to invaders. In the midst of this struggle, Pocahontas, the daughter of the great chief, forges an unlikely friendship with Smith. Their bond preserves a wary peace—but as each seeks to fulfill their own ambitions, their delicate truce begins to crack. Soon the colonists and Powhatans are locked in battle, and Pocahontas must choose between power and servitude—between self and sacrifice—for the sake of her people and her land.

Finding Rebecca

Author: Eoin Dempsey

Category: Historical Fiction

Regular price: $5.99

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: September 18, 2020

Deal ends: September 18, 2020

Description:

Nothing could keep Christopher and Rebecca apart: not her abusive parents, or even the fiancé she brought home after running away to England. But when World War II finally strikes the island of Jersey, the Nazi invaders ship Rebecca to Europe as part of Hitler's Final Solution against the Jewish population.After Christopher and his family are deported back to their native Germany, he volunteers for the Nazi SS, desperate to save the woman he loves. He is posted to Auschwitz and finds himself put in control of the money stolen from the victims of the gas chambers. As Christopher searches for Rebecca, he struggles to not only maintain his cover, but also the grip on his soul. Managing the river of tainted money flowing through the horrific world of Auschwitz may give him unexpected opportunities. But will it give him the strength to accept a brave new fate that could change his life--and others' lives--forever?Revised edition: This edition of Finding Rebecca includes editorial revisions.

The Hangman’s Daughter

Author: Oliver Potzsch

Category: Historical Fiction

Regular price: $5.49

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: September 17, 2020

Deal ends: September 17, 2020

Description:

Germany, 1660: When a dying boy is pulled from the river with a mark crudely tattooed on his shoulder, hangman Jakob Kuisl is called upon to investigate whether witchcraft is at play in his small Bavarian town. Whispers and dark memories of witch trials and the women burned at the stake just seventy years earlier still haunt the streets of Schongau. When more children disappear and an orphan boy is found dead—marked by the same tattoo—the mounting hysteria threatens to erupt into chaos. Before the unrest forces him to torture and execute the very woman who aided in the birth of his children, Jakob must unravel the truth. With the help of his clever daughter, Magdelena, and Simon, the university-educated son of the town’s physician, Jakob discovers that a devil is indeed loose in Schongau. But it may be too late to prevent bloodshed. A brilliantly detailed, fast-paced historical thriller, The Hangman’s Daughter is the first novel from German television screenwriter Oliver Pötzsch, a descendent of the Kuisls, a famous Bavarian executioner clan.Note: This book contains images that some readers may find disturbing.

Defender of Rome

Author: Douglas Jackson

Category: Historical Fiction

Regular price: $7.99

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: September 17, 2020

Deal ends: September 17, 2020

Description:

This riveting and action-packed historical thriller from bestselling author Douglas Jackson is real edge of your seat stuff! Perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow and Ben Kane.Readers are loving Gaius Valerius Verrens! "Absolutely incredible." - 5 STARS."Gripping, violent and captivating." - 5 STARS."The best Roman historical series I've yet read. Just pips Ben Kane and Conn Iggulden." - 5 STARS **************************************************************Gaius Valerius Verrens returns to Rome from the successful campaign against Boudicca in Britain. But he is not the man he once was - scarred both physically and emotionally by the battles he has fought. And neither is Rome the same city as the one he left.The Emperor Nero grows increasingly paranoid. There is talk of a new threat, one found within the walls of Rome itself. A new religious sect, the followers of Christus, deny Nero's divinity and are rumoured to be spreading sedition.Nero calls on Valerius to seek out this rebel sect and to capture their leader. Failure would be to forfeit his life, and the lives of twenty thousand Judaeans living in Rome. But as Valerius begins his search, a quest which will take him to the edge of the empire, he will discover that success may cost him nearly as much as failure.Gaius Valerius Verrens's adventures continue in Avenger of Rome.

Daughter of Fortune

Author: Isabel Allende

Category: Historical Fiction

Regular price: $7.49

Deal price: $2.99

Deal starts: September 17, 2020

Deal ends: September 17, 2020

Description:

From the New York Times bestselling author of The House of the Spirits, Isabelle Allende, comes a passionate tale of one young woman's quest to save her lover set against the chaos of the 1849 California Gold Rush.  Orphaned at birth, Eliza Sommers is raised in the British colony of Valparaíso, Chile, by the well-intentioned Victorian spinster Miss Rose and her more rigid brother Jeremy. Just as she meets and falls in love with the wildly inappropriate Joaquín Andieta, a lowly clerk who works for Jeremy, gold is discovered in the hills of northern California. By 1849, Chileans of every stripe have fallen prey to feverish dreams of wealth. Joaquín takes off for San Francisco to seek his fortune, and Eliza, pregnant with his child, decides to follow him. As Eliza embarks on her perilous journey north in the hold of a ship and arrives in the rough-and-tumble world of San Francisco, she must navigate a society dominated by greedy men. But Eliza soon catches on with the help of her natural spirit and a good friend, the Chinese doctor Tao Chi’en. What began as a search for love ends up as the conquest of personal freedom. A marvel of storytelling, Daughter of Fortune confirms once again Isabel Allende's extraordinary gift for fiction and her place as one of the world's leading writers.