Child of Silence

Author: Abigail Padgett

Category: Mysteries

Regular price: $3.99

Deal price: Free

Deal starts: January 21, 2020

Deal ends: January 21, 2020

Description:

In Child of Silence, the first award-winning Bo Bradley Mystery, a wise old Paiute woman finds a four-year-old boy tied to a mattress in an abandoned shack in the hills above San Diego. Child abuse investigator Bo Bradley gets the case. Staff at St. Mary’s Hospital for Children assume the boy is mentally impaired because he cannot talk, but Bo remembers a little sister named Laurie. She knows that the boy, like Laurie, is deaf. Complicating things is Bo’s manic depressive disorder, a troubling but occasionally valuable problem for which she always, well sometimes, takes her meds. The prime directive in Bo's job is "Don't become emotionally involved with the child!" But the little boy is so bright inside his silence, and so alone. Bo feels the ominous first ripples of an oncoming manic episode and grabs her meds, but they won't have much effect for weeks and the child is in danger now! Risking her job and ultimately her life in a perhaps-delusional race to protect a four-year-old whose only word is his own name - "Weppo" - Bo finds herself alone with the child in a desert night fraught with terrors as she tries to reach an imagined safety among the Paiute. But political intrigue, desperate secrets and a relentless evil lurk in every shadow of a moonlit landscape in which Bo has only her own intense and uncanny perceptions as guide. She knows she's "crazy," but sometimes crazy sees what rational cannot. And "crazy" is now Weppo's only chance for a life!“A sensationally fine first novel… breathtakingly well-told…”The Los Angeles Times

Beyond the Truth

Author: Bruce Robert Coffin

Category: Mysteries

Regular price: $8.76

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: January 20, 2020

Deal ends: January 20, 2020

Description:

Maine Sunday Telegram #1 Bestseller * Winner of the Silver Falchion Award for Best Procedural * Agatha Award Nominee for Best Contemporary Novel * Maine Literary Award Nominee for Best Crime Fiction"A gripping atmospheric thriller that finds the dark side of Portland, Maine. The Detective Byron mystery series is one of the finest to arrive in a long time." —#1 New York Times bestselling author Douglas PrestonIn this latest enthralling mystery from #1 bestselling author Bruce Robert Coffin, Detective Sergeant John Byron faces the greatest challenge of his career.When a popular high school senior is shot by police following a late night robbery, chaos ensues. The actions of the officer are immediately called into question. Amid community protests, political grandstanding, department leaks, and reluctant witnesses, Byron and his team must work quickly to find the missing pieces.And when an attempt is made on the officer’s life, Byron shifts into overdrive, putting everything on the line. Was the attack merely retribution or something more sinister? The search for the truth may come at a price not even Byron can afford.

Extreme Malice

Author: Ray Swirsky

Category: Mysteries

Regular price: $4.99

Deal price: Free

Deal starts: January 19, 2020

Deal ends: January 19, 2020

Description:

She was found with a guitar string still wrapped tightly around her soft neck. Eighteen year old Josh Anderson, the college boy from next door, is charged with her murder. It was his guitar string around her neck. His footprints are found inside her house. Her earring found under his bed. Donna Gardner's husband Jack was hundreds of miles away on business.Was it the perfect murder?

The Complete Hester Lynton Mysteries

Author: Tony Evans

Category: Mysteries

Regular price: $3.99

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: January 18, 2020

Deal ends: January 18, 2020

Description:

Victorian detective Hester Lynton, and her assistant Ivy, are brought together for a final time in this collection of their greatest adventures. Join Hester and Ivy as they travel throughout the country chasing adventure and solving mysteries. This casebook promises twists and turns with a pair of lady sleuths with sharp wits and Holmesian deduction skills. The Complete Hester Lynton Mysteries is a dazzling collection of Victorian mystery stories that are perfect for fans of Conan Doyle, G W Colkitto, and the Raffles series.Tony Evans is a full-time writer. His other publications include adaptations of classic novels for the “Real Reads” series and co-authorship of a book on steam locomotives. He lives with his wife in the Yorkshire Dales.

Sea to Sky

Author: R.E. Donald

Category: Mysteries

Regular price: $4.99

Deal price: Free

Deal starts: January 18, 2020

Deal ends: January 18, 2020

Description:

A dead man rides the chairlift to the bottom of a ski hill on Whistler Mountain. Former RCMP homicide detective Hunter Rayne is at the top of the suspect list, so Hunter has no choice but to get involved in the investigation in order to clear his name.Meanwhile, trucker Hunter was scheduled to haul a load of freight to Northern California, so he calls up his old friend, biker Dan Sorenson, to take his place behind the wheel. What connects the badass biker from Yreka, California to the most prolific female serial killer in US history? And what happens when dispatcher El Watson ignores Hunter's warning and gets the biker involved in the murder investigation?In the midst of the investigation, Hunter's life gets complicated when the progress of a new relationship is hampered by the appearance of a woman from his troubled past.Sea to Sky is the third novel in the Hunter Rayne highway mystery series.

The Little Friend

Author: Donna Tartt

Category: Mysteries

Regular price: $13.99

Deal price: $2.99

Deal starts: January 18, 2020

Deal ends: January 18, 2020

Description:

The second novel by Donna Tartt,  bestselling author of The Goldfinch (winner of the 2014 Pulitzer Prize),  The Little Friend  is a grandly ambitious and utterly riveting novel of childhood, innocence and evil. The setting is Alexandria, Mississippi, where one Mother’s Day a little boy named Robin Cleve Dufresnes was found hanging from a tree in his parents’ yard. Twelve years later Robin’s murder is still unsolved and his family remains devastated. So it is that Robin’s sister Harriet—unnervingly bright, insufferably determined, and unduly influenced by the fiction of Kipling and Robert Louis Stevenson--sets out to unmask his killer. Aided only by her worshipful friend Hely, Harriet crosses her town’s rigid lines of race and caste and burrows deep into her family’s history of loss. Filled with hairpin turns of plot and “a bustling, ridiculous humanity worthy of Dickens” (The New York Times Book Review), The Little Friend is a work of myriad enchantments by a writer of prodigious talent.