Outrage

Author: Arnaldur Indridason

Category: Mysteries

Regular price: $11.99

Deal price: $2.99

Deal starts: April 09, 2021

Deal ends: April 09, 2021

Description:

"Indridason fills the void that remains after you've read Stieg Larsson's novels." —USA TodayArnaldur Indridason has proven himself to be a master of the mystery genre with his critically acclaimed Inspector Erlunder series, which has sold more than 7 million copies worldwide. Now, in Outrage, this superlative crime writer author has written his best book to date, with exceptional prose, heart pounding suspense, and a mystery that is not solved until the last page. Haunted by personal demons, Detective Erlunder decides to take a short leave of absence, putting a female detective, Elínborg, in charge while he is gone. When a troubling case lands on Elínborg's desk, she's quickly thrust into a violent and volatile situation with extremely high stakes. Soon, her investigation uncovers a twisted tale of double lives that may be connected to the unsolved disappearance of a young girl. The clock is ticking to solve the case before a serial rapist strikes again. Reviewers everywhere rave about Indridason's smart and fast-paced Reykjavík thrillers, which exemplify the very best in international crime fiction. Perfect for the many devoted fans of this series as well as for the reader who's never visited Iceland through Indridason's books, Outrage will lead you down a trail of hidden violence, psychological brutality, and wrongs that may never fully be righted.

The Hermit of Eyton Forest

Author: Ellis Peters

Category: Mysteries

Regular price: $10.99

Deal price: $2.99

Deal starts: April 09, 2021

Deal ends: April 09, 2021

Description:

“Bodies and red herrings pile up in a satisfying way” in the Silver Dagger Award–winning medieval mystery series starring Brother Cadfael (Library Journal). The year is 1142, and England is in the grip of civil war. Within the cloisters of the Benedictine Abbey of Saint Peter and Saint Paul, there begins a chain of events no less momentous than the upheavals of the outside world.   It starts with the sad demise of Richard Ludel, Lord of Eyton, whose ten-year-old son and heir, also named Richard, is a pupil at the abbey. The boy refuses to surrender his newly inherited powers to Dionysia, his furious, formidable grandmother. A stranger to the region is the hermit Cuthred, who enjoys the protection of Lady Dionysia, and whose young companion, Hyacinth, befriends Richard. Despite his reputation for holiness, Cuthred’s arrival heralds a series of mishaps for the monks. When a corpse is found in Eyton forest, Brother Cadfael must devote his knowledge of human nature to tracking down a ruthless murderer.

Impulse: The Faces of Evil

Author: Debra Webb

Category: Mysteries

Regular price: $3.99

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: April 08, 2021

Deal ends: April 08, 2021

Description:

Her nightmare isn't over yet . . . The Player is a master in the art of torture and murder. No one had ever gotten close to capturing him until Special Agent Jess Harris targeted him with her relentless determination. Jess's actions may have cost her a job with the bureau, but the Player still wants his vengeance and he'll make Jess pay in ways she never imagined. The first victim is Jess's friend-and the killer won't stop there. With each new death Jess becomes more certain that the only way to stop the Player is to give him what he really wants: her.Chief of Police Dan Burnett is determined to give Jess her confidence and her life back. With an offer on the table, a position as deputy chief of a new division, can Jess risk staying in her hometown and putting those around her in more danger? Or will she walk away to protect everyone she loves-including Dan, who just may want her back in his arms? The stakes are high, and a single impulse will determine who survives the Player's final, deadly game . . . "Compelling main characters and chilling villains elevate Debra Webb's Faces of Evil series into the realm of high-intensity thrillers that readers won't be able to resist." -- New York Times bestselling author CJ Lyons"Just when you think Debra Webb can't get any better, she does. OBSESSION is her best work yet. This gritty, edge of your seat, white knuckle thriller is peopled with tough, credible characters and a brilliant plot that will keep you guessing until the very end. Move over Jack Reacher - Jess Harris is comin' to town." -- Cindy Gerard, New York Times best-selling author, award winning author of the Black Ops, Inc. series"Debra Webb's name says it all..."-- Karen Rose

The Alvarez Family Murder Mysteries (Books 1-6)

Author: Heather Haven

Category: Mysteries

Regular price: $9.99

Deal price: Free

Deal starts: April 08, 2021

Deal ends: April 08, 2021

Description:

SIX DELICIOUSLY FUNNY DETECTIVE COZIES..!Lee Alvarez is a ferret. Not the cute, 4-legged kind but the cute 2-legged kind who sniffs out dastardly cybercrimes from the comfort of her gilded office. But when she gets up from her desk, she often falls over a dead body or two. Not to worry. Solving murders is what she and her family are good at. They run Discretionary Inquiries, a family-owned detective agency in the heart of Silicon Valley. This set is for cozy readers who can't get enough of a smart-mouthed woman sleuth out to please her never-had-a-bad-hair-day mother, computer-genius brother, gourmet chef uncle, and energetic orange and white cat, Tugger. Now you can get all six with one click-- delicious Kindle deal! “One of the funniest mystery authors around. You won’t be able to put her books down. A must-read 5-star series!" National Best Selling Author, Cindy SampleMURDER IS A FAMILY BUSINESSJust because a man cheats on his wife and makes Danny DeVito look tall, dark, and handsome is that any reason to kill him? Lee Alvarez, half Latina, half WASP, and 100% detective doesn’t think so. Guilted by her aristocratic mother into tailing a friend’s husband to a seedy warehouse, he’s killed on her watch. She also finds an abandoned kitten destined to become hers. But in between kitty litter, kibble, and purrs, she’s determined to find out whodunit. Fans of Sue Grafton’s Kinsey Millhone, Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum, and Lisa Lutz’s The Spellman Files will get a kick out of the Alvarez clan.“Heather Haven makes a stellar debut in Murder is a Family Business. Highly recommended.” Sheldon Siegel. NY Times Best Selling AuthorA WEDDING TO DIE FORA groom arrested for murder puts a crimp in any wedding, no matter who designs the bridal gown. The nuptials of Lee Alvarez’s best friend is threatened, so Lee goes south of the border in search of the real killer. And maybe a little romance. Or is it a case of When Cupid’s Wings Start Flapping, Take Cover?“This cozy mystery has it all – romance, suspense, comedy, and a detective you’ll fall hard for.” BestThrillers ReviewsDEATH RUNS IN THE FAMILYCompetitive foot racers are dropping like flies, which sends Lee Alvarez to Vegas disguised as a dancer in a lounge lizard’s act. When she uncovers a multi-million dollar betting syndicate who kills off the competition, it’s time to hit the ground running in the Alvarez Family’s race with death.“I Just finished Death Runs in the Family and I loved it! This has turned out to be one of my favorite series and I sure hope there will be another installment in the near future!” Becky Carbone, Director Global Ebook AwardsDEAD…IF ONLYA man who should be dead isn’t and Lee Alvarez’s very pregnant sister-in-law is about to be charged with a murder he recently committed in the Big Easy. Aided by the rest of the Alvarez Family, Palo Alto’s favorite P.I. kicks the Voodoo in the Who Do throughout New Orleans just as a hurricane hits. “Family plays a huge part in the plot, and what a family it is...For me, this was a great book. The writing was clever and I couldn’t stop laughing.” 100 Romances ProjectTHE CEO CAME DOAIt’s a Christmas wedding for Lee Alvarez complete with dead bodies, a missing groom, and a lethal but little known drug called Devil’s Breath. Just who planned this wedding, anyway? “I found the strongest part of the novel Lee Alvarez herself: strong, competent, and witty, in a growing tradition of tough female detectives. All in all, this is a strong work in the genre of the mystery/thriller.” San Francisco Book Review.THE CULINARY ART OF MURDERIt's a rough day for the PI firm to the stars of Silicon Valley when their own star goes undercover at a culinary arts school to find out who did in one of the teaching chefs in the dry pantry. “A solidly entertaining mystery.” Kirkus Reviews

The Ghostwriter

Author: A.R. Torre

Category: Mysteries

Regular price: $5.99

Deal price: $1.99

Deal starts: April 08, 2021

Deal ends: April 08, 2021

Description:

The Goodreads Readers Choice Nominee for Best Mystery/Suspense of the YearFour years ago, I lied. I stood in front of the police, my friends and family, and made up a story, my best one yet. And all of them believed me.I wasn't surprised. Telling stories is what made me famous. Fifteen bestsellers. Millions of fans. Fame and fortune.Now, I have one last story to write. It'll be my best one yet, with a jaw-dropping twist that will leave the nation stunned and gasping for breath.They say that sticks and stones will break your bones, but this story? It will be the one that kills me.

Uneasy Lies the Crown

Uneasy Lies the Crown by Tasha Alexander

Author: Tasha Alexander

Category: Mysteries

Regular price: $11.99

Deal price: $1.99

Deal starts: April 07, 2021

Deal ends: April 07, 2021

Description:

In Uneasy Lies the Crown, the thrilling new mystery in Tasha Alexander's bestselling series, Lady Emily and her husband Colin must stop a serial killer whose sights may be set on the new king, Edward VII.On her deathbed, Queen Victoria asks to speak privately with trusted agent of the Crown, Colin Hargreaves, and slips him a letter with one last command: Une sanz pluis. Sapere aude. “One and no more. Dare to know.” The year is 1901 and the death of Britain’s longest-reigning monarch has sent the entire British Empire into mourning. But for Lady Emily and her dashing husband, Colin, the grieving is cut short as another death takes center stage. A body has been found in the Tower of London, posed to look like the murdered medieval king Henry VI. When a second dead man turns up in London's exclusive Berkeley Square, his mutilated remains staged to evoke the violent demise of Edward II, it becomes evident that the mastermind behind the crimes plans to strike again. The race to find the killer takes Emily deep into the capital’s underbelly, teeming with secret gangs, street children, and sleazy brothels—but the clues aren’t adding up. Even more puzzling are the anonymous letters Colin has been receiving since Victoria's death, seeming to threaten her successor, Edward VII. With the killer leaving a trail of dead kings in his wake, will Edward be the next victim?