How We Learn

Author: Benedict Carey

Category: Parenting & Family

Regular price: $13.99

Deal price: $4.99

Deal starts: July 01, 2020

Deal ends: July 01, 2020

Description:

In the tradition of The Power of Habit and Thinking, Fast and Slow comes a practical, playful, and endlessly fascinating guide to what we really know about learning and memory today—and how we can apply it to our own lives. From an early age, it is drilled into our heads: Restlessness, distraction, and ignorance are the enemies of success. We’re told that learning is all self-discipline, that we must confine ourselves to designated study areas, turn off the music, and maintain a strict ritual if we want to ace that test, memorize that presentation, or nail that piano recital. But what if almost everything we were told about learning is wrong? And what if there was a way to achieve more with less effort? In How We Learn, award-winning science reporter Benedict Carey sifts through decades of education research and landmark studies to uncover the truth about how our brains absorb and retain information. What he discovers is that, from the moment we are born, we are all learning quickly, efficiently, and automatically; but in our zeal to systematize the process we have ignored valuable, naturally enjoyable learning tools like forgetting, sleeping, and daydreaming. Is a dedicated desk in a quiet room really the best way to study? Can altering your routine improve your recall? Are there times when distraction is good? Is repetition necessary? Carey’s search for answers to these questions yields a wealth of strategies that make learning more a part of our everyday lives—and less of a chore. By road testing many of the counterintuitive techniques described in this book, Carey shows how we can flex the neural muscles that make deep learning possible. Along the way he reveals why teachers should give final exams on the first day of class, why it’s wise to interleave subjects and concepts when learning any new skill, and when it’s smarter to stay up late prepping for that presentation than to rise early for one last cram session. And if this requires some suspension of disbelief, that’s because the research defies what we’ve been told, throughout our lives, about how best to learn. The brain is not like a muscle, at least not in any straightforward sense. It is something else altogether, sensitive to mood, to timing, to circadian rhythms, as well as to location and environment. It doesn’t take orders well, to put it mildly. If the brain is a learning machine, then it is an eccentric one. In How We Learn, Benedict Carey shows us how to exploit its quirks to our advantage.

Go the F**k to Sleep

Author: Adam Mansbach and Ricardo Cortés

Category: Parenting & Family

Regular price: $6.99

Deal price: $1.99

Deal starts: June 28, 2020

Deal ends: June 28, 2020

Description:

The #1 New York Times Bestseller: “A hilarious take on that age-old problem: getting the beloved child to go to sleep” (NPR).“Hell no, you can’t go to the bathroom. You know where you can go? The f**k to sleep.”Go the Fuck to Sleep is a book for parents who live in the real world, where a few snoozing kitties and cutesy rhymes don’t always send a toddler sailing blissfully off to dreamland. Profane, affectionate, and radically honest, it captures the familiar—and unspoken—tribulations of putting your little angel down for the night. Read by a host of celebrities, from Samuel L. Jackson to Jennifer Garner, this subversively funny bestselling storybook will not actually put your kids to sleep, but it will leave you laughing so hard you won’t care.

Kids, Parents, and Power Struggles

Author: Mary Sheedy Kurcinka

Category: Parenting & Family

Regular price: $8.49

Deal price: $2.99

Deal starts: June 26, 2020

Deal ends: June 26, 2020

Description:

From the author of Raising Your Spirited Child, the award-winning bestseller that has helped millions, a pioneering, research-based guide to help parents end power struggles and begin connecting with their child.   Does bedtime mean struggle time, with your child negotiating for "just another ten minutes" every single night? Do most school mornings end with your child in tears? Does your child ignore your repeated requests to get up and do their chores and homework?   Every family experiences power struggles, but these daily tugs of war are not inevitable. Beloved parenting expert Mary Sheedy Kurcinka, Ed.D. addresses the everyday challenges of disciplining children, while understanding the issues behind their behavior. In Kids, Parents, and Power Struggles, Dr. Mary offers unique approaches to solving the daily, and often draining, power struggles between you and your children. She views these conflicts as rich opportunities to teach your children essential life skills such as how to calm themselves, to be assertive rather than aggressive, to solve problems, and to work cooperatively with you and others.   In this book, you will find successful strategies for: ·         Understanding emotions ·         Managing intensity ·         Identifying triggers   With Dr. Mary’s effective guidance, you'll be able to identify the trigger situations that set off the struggles and get to the root of the emotions and needs of you and your child.

The Special Needs Parent Handbook

Author: Jonathan L. Singer

Category: Parenting & Family

Regular price: $4.99

Deal price: Free

Deal starts: June 23, 2020

Deal ends: June 23, 2020

Description:

The Special Needs Parent Handbook - SPECIAL EDITION - is an abridged version of the complete book, also available on Amazon.com.Volunteers are distributing donated copies of a paperback version of this edition to libraries around the country to make sure that people unable to afford a copy will gain access to the book. A deceptively thin, constructive caregiving resource ...  A brief, compassionate guide to raising a disabled child."    Kirkus ReviewsThe Special Needs Parent Handbook provides practical advice for anyparent of a child with special needs, for caregivers of children with mild learningdisorders to those with severe cases of autism, cerebral palsy or otherdisabilities.Learn more about:Hiring babysitters and free respite helpFinding the best and kindest doctorsKeeping the family togetherTaking care of your healthStrategies for inclusion and recreationBeing a strong advocate for your childPlanning for the future

Breakthrough Rapid Reading

Author: Peter Kump

Category: Parenting & Family

Regular price: $13.99

Deal price: $4.99

Deal starts: June 22, 2020

Deal ends: June 22, 2020

Description:

The former National Director of Education for Evelyn Wood Reading Dynamics. presents his do-it-yourself program for increasing reading speed and boosting comprehension. This program distills fundamental principles and skills chat can be learned at home with the help of the drills and exercises provided. And because it lets readers choose their own materials and set their own pace, it's the ideal method for busy people juggling a full schedule.

Fun Loving You

Author: Ted Cunningham

Category: Parenting & Family

Regular price: $9.99

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: June 18, 2020

Deal ends: June 18, 2020

Description:

For a Good Time, Call Home Ted Cunningham has a surprising definition of marriage: a man and a woman enjoying life together. In fact, God created marriage to be a blast—even when it feels like the rest of life is going to explode. This refreshing book will help you: Laugh together again (it’s easier than you think)Make sex even more exciting than on your honeymoonDiscover how to make doing dishes together a partyFight as teammates, not opponentsFigure out how to break the routine without breaking the bankRemember why your spouse is the most likeable person you know Fun Loving You puts laughter, fun, and even spin-the-bottle back into marriage. After all, life is hard. Marriage doesn’t have to be.

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!