Matilda’s Wish

Author: Beth Prentice

Category: Humor & Entertainment

Regular price: $4.99

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: February 27, 2024

Deal ends: February 27, 2024

Description:

A hilarious story of love, loss, and finding yourself.Tilly Lockhart is out of luck, out of money and up to her eyeballs in debt. But just when she thought that fate had it in for her, she inherits a farm from her great aunt Matilda—a woman she never knew existed. The only catch? She must spend one year on her aunt’s farm Dun Roamin’ before she can sell up and save her flailing business.Faced with two thousand acres of land and a menagerie of neurotic animals, this city slicker must enlist the help of the farm’s sexy co-owner Noah in order to survive this new life and uncover why her aunt left it all to her. But just when her heart is opening to small-town life, an unexpected fire uncovers Dun Roamin’s deadly mystery. As threads of past sins unravel, secrets are revealed, danger builds, and threats for Tilly to leave things alone and go home grow more deadly with every passing day.With her newfound friends by her side, can Tilly learn the truth that great aunt Matilda was hiding? Can she find inner strength to protect what she’s grown to love? Or will she lose everything, including her life?If you like lovable characters and heart-warming romance with a dollop of mystery, then you’ll love Matilda’s Wish.

Flight of the Cuckoo

Author: K.L. Smith

Category: Humor & Entertainment

Regular price: $2.99

Deal price: Free

Deal starts: February 27, 2024

Deal ends: February 27, 2024

Description:

A funny novel of twists and turns, life, death, love, and of course.....revenge.

This is the dark but humorous tale of Sarah Pemberton, who is not a happy woman.
A down to earth, inventive soul who despises her stuck up pompous husband Neil, who believes he is much more intelligent and important than she is. When he refuses her a divorce and emotionally blackmails her into staying with him by threatening to take custody of their daughter, she's decides to make life a little more entertaining for herself - by subtly torturing him at every available opportunity.
Creative and adaptable by nature, with a wicked sense of humour, she comes up with more and more ways to ridicule him, without him ever knowing she has a hand in it.

...."During 1993-1994 amongst other things, I cooked him a meat pie with pedigree chum,
stole his car more times than I can count, put chilli powder in his underpants, sent a stripagram to his work (a fat one), and subscribed him to a gay porn mag! (Our paperboy avoided him like the plague after that.)".....

Finding accomplices in the form of her aunt May, who lives in a crumbling old former hotel - which was damaged during WWII, and May's two lodgers, a shy young hippy named Darren, along with his brother Matthew a former life model, they try to get rid of her husband by either 'Plan A' - which consists of 'frame him for a crime so that he gets incarcerated', or 'Plan B '- drive him to a nervous breakdown. Both plans are designed to discredit Neil in case of a custody battle for their daughter.
There is only one little prerequisite for every little torturous idea though, and that is...IT HAS TO MAKE THEM LAUGH!
Unbeknown to Sarah at first, she isn't the only one with a vendetta against her husband, his entire workforce hate his guts and exploit any opportunity to make him look bad.
When plans A & B go disastrously wrong, Sarah and co set their sights on a new target, her in-laws.

Interwoven throughout the story is the tale of aunt May, the lynch pin of her little make-shift family, who harbours secrets of her own that go back to the night the bomb fell on the east wing of the hotel.

This is not a tale of a submissive woman suffering at the hands of abuse; this is the tale of a strong courageous woman having one last laugh at other people's expense.

Contains very occasional strong language, and scenes that should not be repeated at home.

Volume One of 'The Cuckoo' series

Would You Rather? Questions for Couples

Author: Sanji Moore

Category: Humor & Entertainment

Regular price: $10.99

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: February 19, 2024

Deal ends: February 19, 2024

Description:

Would you rather give people the ability to read your thoughts or see your internet search history? Ditch the same-old, boring couples’ activities—and learn what makes your partner tick—as you consider fun questions like this one. From deciding between two equally questionable choices to debating which impossible scenario you’d rather be stuck in, these Would You Rather questions will keep the conversation flowing, make you laugh hysterically, and strengthen your bond.  Use

Would You Rather? Questions for Couples

to:

Get playful—and weird.

Questions span topics from everyday choices and embarrassing moments to wild adventures involving celebrities, time travel, and the supernatural. There’s truly something for everyone.

Spark hours of conversation.

With over 250 questions, you’ll have plenty of material for interesting debates anytime, anywhere. You’ll be surprised just how much you learn about each other’s thinking, perspectives, and priorities.  

Up the ante.

Feeling competitive? Use our suggestions to turn these questions into a game for two, complete with stakes, points, and prizes.

Win partner points.

This book will help you foster a deeper connection with your significant other, making it the perfect Valentine’s Day or anniversary gift, or date-night companion.

The Diary of a Nobody

Author: George Grossmith

Category: Humor & Entertainment

Regular price: $5.99

Deal price: $1.99

Deal starts: February 17, 2024

Deal ends: February 17, 2024

Description:

This “jewel at the heart of English comic literature” chronicles the daily fortunes and misfortunes of a middle-age, middle-class clerk (William Trevor, The Mail on Sunday).   Since its original publication in 1892, The Diary of a Nobody has become a much-loved classic. It is a fictional man’s dissection of the everyday drama of his life as an office worker in a London firm. With dry wit, the authors step into the character of Charles Pooter as he navigates work life with not-so-respectful young coworkers and family life with his charming wife, Carrie, and impetuous son, Lupin. From home repairs gone wrong (painting the tub red), to the comings and goings of his friends Cummings and Gowings, Pooter painstakingly shares intimate details of his existence, with the (not completely absurd) hope of maybe someday having his memoir published. An ongoing tally of the good jokes he makes shares space with descriptions of grievous insults to his person, party mishaps, the annoying behavior of everyone around him, and Lupin’s on-again off-again employment and engagement status. The Diary of a Nobody gives everyone a reason to laugh—and recognize themselves in Pooter’s droll prose.  “The funniest book in the world.” —Evelyn Waugh, author of Brideshead Revisited  “There’s a universality about Pooter that touches everybody . . . [he] fits into the tradition of absurd humour that the British do well, which started with Jonathan Swift and runs through Lewis Carroll and Edward Lear to Monty Python.” —Jasper Fforde, Time Out  “Pooter himself is as gentle as you could wish, a wonderful character, genuinely lovable. The book is beautifully constructed.” —Andrew Davies, The Herald

Do You Mind If I Cancel?

Author: Gary Janetti

Category: Humor & Entertainment

Regular price: $11.99

Deal price: $2.99

Deal starts: February 13, 2024

Deal ends: February 13, 2024

Description:

The Instant New York Times Bestseller"From “Family Guy” to his own Instagram account, Janetti has been behind some of his generation’s greatest comedy. This book of essays is no exception." — The New York TimesFans of David Sedaris, Jenny Lawson, and Tina Fey… meet your new friend Gary Janetti.Gary Janetti, the writer and producer for some of the most popular television comedies of all time, and creator of one of the most wickedly funny Instagram accounts there is, now turns his skills to the page in a hilarious, and poignant book chronicling the pains and indignities of everyday life. Gary spends his twenties in New York, dreaming of starring on soap operas while in reality working at a hotel where he lusts after an unattainable colleague and battles a bellman who despises it when people actually use a bell to call him. He chronicles the torture of finding a job before the internet when you had to talk on the phone all the time, and fantasizes, as we all do, about who to tell off when he finally wins an Oscar. As Gary himself says, “These are essays from my childhood and young adulthood about things that still annoy me.”Original, brazen, and laugh out loud funny, Do You Mind If I Cancel? is something not to be missed.

Wow, No Thank You

Author: Samantha Irby

Category: Humor & Entertainment

Regular price: $11.99

Deal price: $4.99

Deal starts: February 12, 2024

Deal ends: February 12, 2024

Description:

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • Lambda Literary Award for Bisexual Nonfiction Award Winner • A rip-roaring, edgy and unabashedly raunchy new collection of hilarious essays from the New York Times bestselling author of We Are Never Meeting in Real Life.“Stay-up-all-night, miss-your-subway-stop, spit-out-your-beverage funny.” —Jia Tolentino, New York Times bestselling author of Trick MirrorIrby is forty, and increasingly uncomfortable in her own skin despite what Inspirational Instagram Infographics have promised her. She has left her job as a receptionist at a veterinary clinic, has published successful books and has been friendzoned by Hollywood, left Chicago, and moved into a house with a garden that requires repairs and know-how with her wife in a Blue town in the middle of a Red state where she now hosts book clubs and makes mason jar salads. This is the bourgeois life of a Hallmark Channel dream. She goes on bad dates with new friends, spends weeks in Los Angeles taking meetings with "tv executives slash amateur astrologers" while being a "cheese fry-eating slightly damp Midwest person," "with neck pain and no cartilage in [her] knees," who still hides past due bills under her pillow.The essays in this collection draw on the raw, hilarious particulars of Irby's new life. Wow, No Thank You. is Irby at her most unflinching, riotous, and relatable.Don't miss Samantha Irby's bestselling new book, Quietly Hostile!