The Rise of the River-Man

Author: L.S. O'Dea

Category: Horror

Regular price: $0.99

Deal price: Free

Deal starts: May 24, 2019

Deal ends: May 24, 2019

Description:

If you like short, disturbing stories similar to the Twilight Zone and Tales from the Crypt, then you'll love this series.Welcome to the Conguise’s Laboratory Level Five....In a world filled with human-animal hybrids, Guards are bred to serve the Almightys until they’re no longer wanted.Mutter waits for his execution. It’s inevitable. He was a fighter and he lost. No one wants an ex-fighter. He’s too big, mean and ugly. Death will be the only way he gets out of this cell, but then the unthinkable happens. An Almighty visits in the dead of night and offers him a chance to leave. A chance to live.All he has to do is obey and Guards were bred to obey. When Mutter is taken to his new home, something isn’t right. There’s food and a bed but there are sounds and smells from the other cages. Things that move like nothing he’s ever encountered.For the first time in his life, he’s afraid. Afraid of the creatures that lurk nearby. Afraid of the shots his new master is giving him.He knows he’s supposed to obey, to always follow their rules but if he doesn’t escape, he’ll become food for one of those things in the other cages. Or worse... turn into one of them."A fascinating glimpse into the world of the Lake of Sins." J. Urbanczyk Interview with the AuthorQ. – So, why should someone read the Conguise Chronicles series?Well, because it’s great (smiles). No, seriously. If you’re looking for your typical horror novel with classic vampires, witches, demons or werewolves then you should look somewhere else. This story turns your standard supernatural thrillers upside down. You'll root for the monster, not the humans.The characters in the series are human-animal hybrids. They’ve been captured and are being genetically modified by a genius who hasn't quite figured out how to control his experiments or his monsters. Conguise Chronicles takes place in the world of the Lake of Sins—a world which is segregated by class and the descendants of humans rule supreme. Each story in this series explores the life of one genetic mutation who you meet in the Lake of Sins series. The books are fast paced with adventure, danger and madness around every corner. I guarantee by the end, you’ll be rooting for the monster and you'll never read another horror story without thinking about things from the creature's perspective.All-in-all, it’s a unique and exciting read and you should give it a try. I think you’ll love it.Q. – Who should read the Conguise Chronicles series?The audience for this series is broad. I have fans (male and female) aged ten through eighty. Anyone who likes gory thrillers that are dark, a little disturbing and packed with action will enjoy these books. If you like Relic, Frankenstein and The Island of Dr. Moreau, then you’ll enjoy these tales.However, a word of caution is in order. These books are not for the squeamish. Some scenes are bloody and violent, but the interactions between the characters are funny, poignant and loving. Still, I wouldn’t recommend these books to anyone under thirteen without the parents reading the books first.If you enjoy this book, you should check out the parent series (Lake of Sins). The first book is free.The Lake of Sins Series should be read in the following order:Lake of Sins: Escape (book 1) (free for a limited time)Lake of Sins: Secrets In Blood (book 2)Lake of Sins: Hangman’s Army (book 3)Lake of Sins: Betrayed (book 4)Lake of Sins: Whispers from the PastI don’t have the titles for the others in the series yet.

Rookwood Asylum

Author: David Longhorn

Category: Horror

Regular price: -

Deal price: Launch Price 0.99

Deal starts: May 23, 2019

Deal ends: May 23, 2019

Description:

Some memories are too painful to forget…American History lecturer Paul Mahan was looking for a little peace and quiet. A place to recover from his personal demons, and pursue his academic career. But when he moves into the newly refurbished Rookwood Apartments, he soon finds himself trapped in a living nightmare.A series of terrifying events forces Paul to question his sanity. Strange messages scrib-ble themselves across the walls. His beautiful neighbor seems to vanish without a trace. And a deadly accident tears away the veil from Rookwood’s dark past.As these violent incidents escalate, residents call in a paranormal expert, hoping to end the strange accidents once and for all. But only Paul understands the chilling truth. The pain and torture of Rookwood’s blood-soaked past can no longer be contained…And a terror beyond anything they have ever experienced is about to be unleashed.

Dark Day Dreams

Author: James Hawthorne

Category: Horror

Regular price: $1.99

Deal price: Free

Deal starts: May 22, 2019

Deal ends: May 22, 2019

Description:

This is a collection of science fiction, dark fantasy and horror short stories. Some of the scenarios explored include a dream world where heroes battle sleep demons, a future America that's been radically altered by climate change, a second Civil War fought in the 1970's, a nonstop parade of mass shootings, a beast who travels to Hollywood to get into show biz and many more.

The Lightning Stenography Device

Author: M.F. Sullivan

Category: Horror

Regular price: $7.99

Deal price: Free

Deal starts: May 21, 2019

Deal ends: May 21, 2019

Description:

Get hooked up with the most far-out piece of literature you've readin years: THE LIGHTNING STENOGRAPHY DEVICE is a subversive blend ofscience fiction and fantasy, and a one-of-a-kind literary trip.The first marketable thought to text device is released for publicconsumption in 2031. That same year, author Cassius Wagner will have aseizure. At least, that is what the novel says: the novel to which heawakens in fragments one morning after a late night of writing. Thisnovel. Terrified to have a prophetic manuscript unfurling at his heels, his desperation to evade his fate prevents him from consideringthat his lover and editrix, Katherine Beauvoir, might be wrestling with a destiny of her own--one which seems to concern the discovery of a human skull. Told in four parts which peak with the magic-rich fableof a sublingual Huntress as she fights to save her King, THE LIGHTNINGSTENOGRAPHY DEVICE is a mystical voyage of psychological literaryfiction perfect for fans of Philip K. Dick's VALIS Trilogy, and is sureto leave them questioning not just the boundaries of literature, but ofreality.Be sure to check out M.F. Sullivan's next LGBTQ+ cyberpunk/horror book, THE HIEROPHANT'S DAUGHTER (Disgraced Martyr Trilogy #1), available on May 19th 2019!

Unchosen

Author: Jeffrey Cook and Katherine Perkins

Category: Horror

Regular price: $2.99

Deal price: Free

Deal starts: May 20, 2019

Deal ends: May 20, 2019

Description:

What happens when the Chosen One dies in Chapter 1?For countless years, the people of the four towers that stand between this world and the Otherrealm have waited for the day. The prophesied moment has come--and it's about to go horribly wrong. When tragedy strikes, four companions must race against time--and victorious evil forces--without a hero to carry their hopes. Even obviously doomed worlds are still worth fighting for.

Horror in the Woods

Author: Steph Young

Category: Horror

Regular price: $4.99

Deal price: Free

Deal starts: May 19, 2019

Deal ends: May 19, 2019

Description:

People are going missing in the Woods; They are being taken, but by who, or what...?  True tales of horrifying, unexplained disappearances in the woods...The Woods will never be the same again...Bestselling author Steph Young has appeared on National radio shows including 'Coast to Coast Am.' People in the Woods are disappearing....  hikers missing in national parks, people lost to the woods - never to return, people taken....never found again...Natural predators can lurk in the wilderness; bears, mountain lions, cougars, and occasionally a hiker will be victim to these wild animals, who feed where they kill or drag their bloody victim to a nearby lair; they leave a trail that is obvious to searchers. But the victims in this book show no evidence of an animal attack. For these victims, there is no logical explanation....  only cryptic unexplained mysteries, enigma, and many unanswered questions...