A Fallen Star

Author: a.M. Kusi

Category: African-American Interest

Regular price: $0.99

Deal price: Free

Deal starts: June 26, 2022

Deal ends: June 26, 2022

Description:

He’s tormented by dark addictions. She’s fighting for a lifelong dream. Can they rise from the ashes of despair and find happily ever after?

Mikel Evans is broken. With all his attention focused on dealing with blackmail and a drug dependency, his day-to-day is barely survivable. So when he reflexively steps up to defend his best friend’s little sister, he’s blindsided when she leans in for a kiss.

Remy Stone is done bottling up her emotions. And now that she’s finally caught Mikel’s eye, she’s determined to pursue the relationship despite the red flags. But when his violent past lands her in the hospital and reveals her own hidden truth, Remy’s resolve falters.

Trapped in a vicious cycle of temptation and relapse, Mikel knows the only way out is to bare his soul of its twisted secrets. And though Remy wants him with all her heart, she fears his demons will always come between them.

Can the embattled couple defeat the monsters that threaten their love?

Royal Holiday

Author: Jasmine Guillory

Category: African-American Interest

Regular price: $8.99

Deal price: $1.99

Deal starts: June 25, 2022

Deal ends: June 25, 2022

Description:

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Proposal and a “rising star in the romance genre” (Entertainment Weekly) comes a dazzling novel about a spontaneous holiday vacation that turns into an unforgettable romance.

Vivian Forest has been out of the country a grand total of one time, so when she gets the chance to tag along on her daughter Maddie’s work trip to England to style a royal family member, she can’t refuse. She’s excited to spend the holidays taking in the magnificent British sights, but what she doesn’t expect is to become instantly attracted to a certain private secretary, his charming accent, and unyielding formality.

Malcolm Hudson has worked for the Queen for years and has never given a personal, private tour—until now. He is intrigued by Vivian the moment he meets her and finds himself making excuses just to spend time with her. When flirtatious banter turns into a kiss under the mistletoe, things snowball into a full-on fling.

Despite a ticking timer on their holiday romance, they are completely fine with ending their short, steamy affair come New Year’s Day...or are they?

The Sellout

Author: Paul Beatty

Category: African-American Interest

Regular price: $10.99

Deal price: $2.99

Deal starts: June 24, 2022

Deal ends: June 24, 2022

Description:

Named One of the 10 Best Books of the Year by The New York Times Book Review
Named a Best Book of the Year by Newsweek, The Denver Post, BuzzFeed, Kirkus Reviews, and Publishers Weekly
Named a "Must-Read" by Flavorwire and New York Magazine's "Vulture" Blog

A biting satire about a young man's isolated upbringing and the race trial that sends him to the Supreme Court, Paul Beatty's The Sellout showcases a comic genius at the top of his game. It challenges the sacred tenets of the United States Constitution, urban life, the civil rights movement, the father-son relationship, and the holy grail of racial equality—the black Chinese restaurant.

Born in the "agrarian ghetto" of Dickens—on the southern outskirts of Los Angeles—the narrator of The Sellout resigns himself to the fate of lower-middle-class Californians: "I'd die in the same bedroom I'd grown up in, looking up at the cracks in the stucco ceiling that've been there since '68 quake." Raised by a single father, a controversial sociologist, he spent his childhood as the subject in racially charged psychological studies. He is led to believe that his father's pioneering work will result in a memoir that will solve his family's financial woes. But when his father is killed in a police shoot-out, he realizes there never was a memoir. All that's left is the bill for a drive-thru funeral.

Fueled by this deceit and the general disrepair of his hometown, the narrator sets out to right another wrong: Dickens has literally been removed from the map to save California from further embarrassment. Enlisting the help of the town's most famous resident—the last surviving Little Rascal, Hominy Jenkins—he initiates the most outrageous action conceivable: reinstating slavery and segregating the local high school, which lands him in the Supreme Court.

The Preacher and The Prostitute

Author: Brenda Barrett

Category: African-American Interest

Regular price: $3.99

Deal price: Free

Deal starts: June 22, 2022

Deal ends: June 22, 2022

Description:

Maribel struggled to forget her past, when she dabbled in prostitution, made porn videos and was a nude poster girl. She became a Christian and made a decision to use her singing talent to glorify God. However, she quickly realized that a young, single, attractive, talented girl was never going to remain unnoticed at church.

First, she captures the attention of a jealous church sister who is determined to dig into her mysterious past and then the new pastor who seemed to reciprocate her affection. After falling in love with him, her past rears its ugly head and Maribel realizes that she has to tell her new found love the truth about her history before she can accept his marriage proposal. Can a preacher and an ex- prostitute be happy together?

Goliath

Author: Tochi Onyebuchi

Category: African-American Interest

Regular price: $13.99

Deal price: $2.49

Deal starts: June 21, 2022

Deal ends: June 21, 2022

Description:

A New York Times Editors' Choice Pick!

A Most Anticipated Pick for USA Today | Bustle | Buzzfeed | Goodreads | Nerdist | io9 | WBUR | Polygon | The New Scientist

"In this ambitious novel, dense with perspectives and social commentary, Onyebuchi dreams up disparate lives in a crumbling future America—with gentrifiers returning to Earth from space colonies and laborers trying to make a precarious living—while leaving room for moments of beauty and humor."—The New York Times, Editors' Choice

In his adult novel debut, Hugo, Nebula, Locus, and NAACP Image Award finalist and ALA Alex and New England Book Award winner Tochi Onyebuchi delivers a sweeping science fiction epic in the vein of Samuel R. Delany and Station Eleven.

In the 2050s, Earth has begun to empty. Those with the means and the privilege have departed the great cities of the United States for the more comfortable confines of space colonies. Those left behind salvage what they can from the collapsing infrastructure. As they eke out an existence, their neighborhoods are being cannibalized. Brick by brick, their houses are sent to the colonies, what was once a home now a quaint reminder for the colonists of the world that they wrecked.

A primal biblical epic flung into the future, Goliath weaves together disparate narratives—a space-dweller looking at New Haven, Connecticut as a chance to reconnect with his spiraling lover; a group of laborers attempting to renew the promises of Earth’s crumbling cities; a journalist attempting to capture the violence of the streets; a marshal trying to solve a kidnapping—into a richly urgent mosaic about race, class, gentrification, and who is allowed to be the hero of any history.

Sula

Author: Toni Morrison

Category: African-American Interest

Regular price: $11.99

Deal price: $2.99

Deal starts: June 20, 2022

Deal ends: June 20, 2022

Description:

From the acclaimed Nobel Prize winner: Two girls who grow up to become women. Two friends who become something worse than enemies. This brilliantly imagined novel brings us the story of Nel Wright and Sula Peace, who meet as children in the small town of Medallion, Ohio.

Nel and Sula's devotion is fierce enough to withstand bullies and the burden of a dreadful secret. It endures even after Nel has grown up to be a pillar of the black community and Sula has become a pariah. But their friendship ends in an unforgivable betrayal—or does it end? Terrifying, comic, ribald and tragic, Sula is a work that overflows with life.