Don’t Judge A Girl By Her Mother

Author: K.H. Finder

Category: Literary Fiction

Regular price: $2.99

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: August 17, 2017

Deal ends: August 22, 2017

Description:

An emotional story told by alternating points of view that illustrates a connection between words, prescription drugs, and their abilities to wound or heal.“I walked on pins and needles my entire life, until I got a place of my own. I’m speaking literally, and believe me, I tried to get out earlier.”Esteemed local news anchor, Marley Christopher, accepts the network’s request to endorse a nationwide drug abuse awareness campaign, unsuspecting of its significance in her personal life. Profound love for her daughter, Alex, contradicts the loathsome disdain she feels for her mother, Iris. Lifelong conflicts intensify when a bond between her mother and daughter ignites a spark that threatens to change everything.

Flowers in the Snow (The Edenville Series, Book 1)

Author: Danielle Stewart

Category: Literary Fiction

Regular price: $2.99

Deal price: Free

Deal starts: August 16, 2017

Deal ends: August 16, 2017

Description:

Remembering the past can be like buying a return ticket for a train you aren't sure you want to board.Rocking away on her peaceful front porch, Betty Grafton receives sad news which forces her to relive the darkest moments of her life. Surrounded by her family, a captive audience hanging onto her every word, she weaves the tale of how an unlikely and controversial friendship shaped her into the woman she is today. Exposing her own mistakes, fears, and soul deep heartbreak, Betty shares the hard truth about growing up in the South in the 1960's.Though the years have blown by with hurricane force, the ache in her heart feels fresh. The threat of harm still chills her to the core. But the joy of friendship continues to sustain her.The Edenville Series: Book 1: Flowers in the Snow Book 2: Kiss in the Wind Book 3: Stars in a BottleBook 4: Fire in the Heart

Juliana (Volume 1: 1941-1944)

Author: Vanda Vanda

Category: Literary Fiction

Regular price: $0.99

Deal price: Free

Deal starts: August 13, 2017

Deal ends: August 13, 2017

Description:

“An Absolutely Beautiful and Moving Novel!--Philip Crawford, author of Mafia and the GaysShe went looking for fame, and found her true self, instead.New York City, 1941. Alice “Al” Huffman and her childhood friends are fresh off the potato farms of Long Island and bound for Broadway. Al’s plans for stage success are abruptly put on hold when she’s told she has no talent. As she gets a job to pay for acting classes, Al settles into a normal life with her friends and a boyfriend. It all changes when she meets Juliana.A singer on the brink of stardom, Juliana is everything Al isn’t: glamorous, talented, and queer. The farm girl is quickly enthralled, experiencing thoughts and feelings she never realized were possible. Al finds herself slipping between two worlds: the gay underground and the “normal” world of her childhood friends. It’s a balancing act she can handle until the two worlds begin to collideIn a city bursting with change, can Alice find what she was looking for all along?Juliana: Volume 1: 1941-1944 is a captivating work of LGBT historical romance. If you like extensively researched settings, spell-binding storytelling, and characters you can’t help but fall for, then you’ll love the first book in award-winning playwright Vanda’s new Juliana series.Buy Juliana to discover a sexy, funny, and deadly serious world today!

Other Side

Author: Ray Hollar-Gregory

Category: Literary Fiction

Regular price: $3.99

Deal price: Free

Deal starts: August 11, 2017

Deal ends: August 13, 2017

Description:

Other Side is a riveting psychological tale set in the New York City metropolitan area. The themes are viewed through the experiences of Jordan Baros a young successful attorney. The title Other Side is an attempt to explore the duality of personality, character and actions of people. Jordan faces his conflicts and value propositions through four relationships that are juxtaposed and contradictory. His pursuit of validation and truth is explored through his mother, wife, mistress and a sex worker. The main character falls from grace as a successful professional to disgrace through drug addition and lose of career and family. The anecdotes from each encapsulate a broad perspective of political and social issues in a multicultural society. Jordan’s journey and the women’s stories of relationship struggle and maturation provide the platform for all the characters development.

These Fragile Things

Author: Jane Davis

Category: Literary Fiction

Regular price: $3.99

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: August 11, 2017

Deal ends: August 16, 2017

Description:

Life can change in a split second. And nothing you can do will stop it. 'Very occasionally a story jumps out at you with a raw burst of originality and thought-provocation that goes deeper than most, leaving you pondering the issues and plot lines unfolding in front of you. That story is These Fragile Things.’ ~ Lorraine Devon Wilke, Author.

As a London suburb reels from riots in neighbouring Brixton, Graham Jones finds fatherhood a frightening place. How can he protect his family from the onslaught of change? But the future holds more fear than he can possibly imagine. One afternoon, a wall collapses, burying his thirteen-year-old daughter Judy underneath it. Rescuers who recover her shattered body from the rubble are amazed. “She’s alive,” her shaking mother Elaine is told. “And we’ll do everything we can to keep her that way.”

With Judy’s life hanging in the balance, Graham’s anxieties seem trivial. The unimaginable has happened. Who can he turn to? While his wife puts her trust in medics, Graham’s answer is prayer.When Judy not only pulls through, but defies all medical predictions, the press publish headlines about ‘The Miracle Girl’.
Elaine knows this is a tough label for any teenager to live up to, let alone one who’s batting physical and psychological scars. She has always understood that love is all we can cling to in this whirling confusion of a world. Now, under siege from the press, pushed to breaking point by an onslaught of miracle seekers, she seeks solace in the arms of strangers.

Meanwhile, refusing to be drawn into her parent’s emotional tug-of-war, Judy treads her own path. But we all of us live on a knife edge. And things are about to get far, far worse.

With the trademark elegance and profound thoughtfulness one expects from this award-winning author, this emotionally-charged novel will make you reflect on belief, faith and the enduring power of love.

Perfect for fans of Maggie O'Farrell, Rachel Joyce and Ali Smith.“Davis is a phenomenal writer. And this is a coming of age story like no other. ” Compulsion Reads

Snow Sometimes Falls

Author: Brian Ming

Category: Literary Fiction

Regular price: $2.99

Deal price: Free

Deal starts: August 10, 2017

Deal ends: August 12, 2017

Description:

At age six, Dave was alone swinging in his backyard and heard a heavenly voice, “SNOW SOMETIMES FALLS!” It takes over thirty years, along with several calamities to discover what God was telling him that day. Dave learns, even through the tragic death of his mother, the thirty-year revelation was well worth the wait.