The Edge of Revolt (Book 3)

Author: Uvi Poznansky

Category: Literary Fiction

Regular price: $3.99

Deal price: Free

Deal starts: February 23, 2018

Deal ends: February 26, 2018

Description:

David loves his sons. The last thing he expects is that they will topple him from the throne. Who among them will remain by his side? Who will be not only loyal, but also eager to continue his legacy?

For now, David remains silent, even as Amnon rapes Tamar, even as Absalom lures Amnon to his death. In families other than his, such crimes may be concealed. But when they occur in the king’s family, they affect matters of the state, and result in his escape from the son he adores. Will he finds a way to quell the revolt and come back to the City of David?

This is a standalone novel as well as volume III of The David Chronicles, told candidly by the king himself. David uses modern language, indicating that this is no fairytale. Rather, it is a story that is happening here and now. If you like ancient historical fiction about court intrigue, this king David novel has a modern twist like no book you have read before.

Bette, Unscripted

Author: JB Trepagnier

Category: Literary Fiction

Regular price: $3.99

Deal price: Free

Deal starts: February 23, 2018

Deal ends: February 23, 2018

Description:

A damaged former child star"Thank God, it hasn't affected my looks," she said as she lined her eyes. Bette Poole, once the biggest child star in the world, is struggling at twenty five. She's got the talent for adult roles, but none of the drive. She can't function without cocaine, booze, and opiates and it's affecting her performance on set. Layers of secrets and psychological damageJerry, her agent, makes one last attempt to help her by getting her on a reality TV show. Bette's studio executive father doesn't want to help, but pulls the plug on the first day of shooting. Jerry inserts himself into her life, moving into her apartment to get her sober and working. It's worse than Jerry thought. Bette has secrets upon secrets. Secrets that could bring down half of Hollywood and involve Jerry directly. He just needs her to trust him and talk, unscripted, so he can bring down everyone who has hurt her

Queenie’s Teapot (Book 1)

Author: Carolyn Steele

Category: Literary Fiction

Regular price: $3.99

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: February 22, 2018

Deal ends: February 27, 2018

Description:

A post-Brexit, post-Trump romp through the world of what-if...In a world where democracy has been declared no longer fit for purpose, a cohort of randomly selected British Republic citizens receive their call to serve in parliament. As the strangers gather to learn their tasks for the next three years, the Cabinet Support Team try to fit jobs to skills—but Queenie can’t do nuffin’. Naturally she becomes head of state. Together the new government muddles through, tackling unrest on the streets and a spot of global bioterrorism in addition to their own journeys of self-discovery.

The Leaf Queen

Author: Janet Roberts

Category: Literary Fiction

Regular price: $2.99

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: February 21, 2018

Deal ends: February 21, 2018

Description:

Are some wounds impossible to recover from?While studying abroad in Ireland, American graduate student Dina makes the heart-wrenching choice to give up her daughter for adoption. The grief and trauma of her desperate loss follow her back to America where, as she works to put her life back together with the help of her sister, she ultimately seeks love and comfort in all the wrong places creating even more turmoil for herself. When Dina is diagnosed with cancer, she must decide if courage and hope will prevail or if she will succumb to the overwhelming grief that haunts her life.Will Dina finally break under the strain of loss or can she find a way to forgive herself and find love before it's too late?

Baghdad – The Final Gathering

Author: Ahmad Ardalan

Category: Literary Fiction

Regular price: $2.99

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: February 18, 2018

Deal ends: February 21, 2018

Description:

"Wars, an embargo, and forbidden love in this once peaceful city..."

With the drums of war just weeks away, Omar invites all those closest to his heart for lunch at his lavish villa overlooking the Tigris River of Baghdad. He can't help but smile at the faces that have graced his eventful life that spans from an interesting childhood, the two Gulf Wars, and the inhumane embargo that crippled the nation. Loved ones come together, probably for the last time, in the city their ancestors called Baghdad or Baghdadu, "God’s Gift."
Memories upon memories linger in Omar's head. He has survived times of struggle, holding on to hope and love along the way. As he reflects on his journey, as a man destined to live a hard life in tumultuous times, he ponders a clouded future, on the brink of unknown change

Cloud Atlas

Author: David Mitchell

Category: Literary Fiction

Regular price: $11.99

Deal price: $2.99

Deal starts: February 18, 2018

Deal ends: February 18, 2018

Description:

By the New York Times bestselling author of The Bone Clocks | Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize | Includes a new Afterword by David MitchellA postmodern visionary and one of the leading voices in twenty-first-century fiction, David Mitchell combines flat-out adventure, a Nabokovian love of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-bending, philosophical and scientific speculation in the tradition of Umberto Eco, Haruki Murakami, and Philip K. Dick. The result is brilliantly original fiction as profound as it is playful. In this groundbreaking novel, an influential favorite among a new generation of writers, Mitchell explores with daring artistry fundamental questions of reality and identity.Cloud Atlas begins in 1850 with Adam Ewing, an American notary voyaging from the Chatham Isles to his home in California. Along the way, Ewing is befriended by a physician, Dr. Goose, who begins to treat him for a rare species of brain parasite. . . . Abruptly, the action jumps to Belgium in 1931, where Robert Frobisher, a disinherited bisexual composer, contrives his way into the household of an infirm maestro who has a beguiling wife and a nubile daughter. . . . From there we jump to the West Coast in the 1970s and a troubled reporter named Luisa Rey, who stumbles upon a web of corporate greed and murder that threatens to claim her life. . . . And onward, with dazzling virtuosity, to an inglorious present-day England; to a Korean superstate of the near future where neocapitalism has run amok; and, finally, to a postapocalyptic Iron Age Hawaii in the last days of history.But the story doesn’t end even there. The narrative then boomerangs back through centuries and space, returning by the same route, in reverse, to its starting point. Along the way, Mitchell reveals how his disparate characters connect, how their fates intertwine, and how their souls drift across time like clouds across the sky.As wild as a videogame, as mysterious as a Zen koan, Cloud Atlas is an unforgettable tour de force that, like its incomparable author, has transcended its cult classic status to become a worldwide phenomenon.Praise for Cloud Atlas   “[David] Mitchell is, clearly, a genius. He writes as though at the helm of some perpetual dream machine, can evidently do anything, and his ambition is written in magma across this novel’s every page.”—The New York Times Book Review   “One of those how-the-holy-hell-did-he-do-it? modern classics that no doubt is—and should be—read by any student of contemporary literature.”—Dave Eggers   “Wildly entertaining . . . a head rush, both action-packed and chillingly ruminative.”—People   “The novel as series of nested dolls or Chinese boxes, a puzzle-book, and yet—not just dazzling, amusing, or clever but heartbreaking and passionate, too. I’ve never read anything quite like it, and I’m grateful to have lived, for a while, in all its many worlds.”—Michael Chabon   “Cloud Atlas ought to make [Mitchell] famous on both sides of the Atlantic as a writer whose fearlessness is matched by his talent.”—The Washington Post Book World   “Thrilling . . . One of the biggest joys in Cloud Atlas is watching Mitchell sashay from genre to genre without a hitch in his dance step.”—Boston Sunday Globe   “Grand and elaborate . . . [Mitchell] creates a world and language at once foreign and strange, yet strikingly familiar and intimate.”—Los Angeles TimesFrom the Trade Paperback edition.