With Shield and Ink and Bone by Casey L. Bond

Author: Casey L. Bond

Category: Teen & Young Adult

Regular price: $3.99

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: April 17, 2021

Deal ends: April 17, 2021

Description:

The sharpest blades are forged in fury.

A hard-earned shield.

Days before she is to take her place as a shield maiden, like her mother before her, two deaths alter the course of Liv’s future. One belonged to a witch who called her by name, the other a chieftain from the north. Vengeance for the chieftain’s death comes in a wild fury that burns her village and slaughters her family. Left for dead, Liv pleads to Skuld—norn and weaver of the future—to spare her. A deal is struck that will endow her with the dark magic needed to claim her vengeance. But this power comes at an unfathomable price...

Ink made from the ashes of loved ones.

After his home is attacked, Calder races to warn neighboring villages. Little does he know he’s traveling the path of fate that will lead him straight to Liv. Despite being broken, angry, and overwhelmed by power she cannot contain, it’s her willingness to defend others that draws Calder to her.

Armor forged from the bones of those held dear.

Together, Liv and Calder discover they are two sides of the same sharpened blade. Rising from the heartache and fury in their pasts, they see a future together worth fighting for. With their strengths and hearts combined, can they become a force powerful enough to defeat the fleet of darkness coming for them? Or will the thread of fate that binds them unravel?

With Shield and Ink and Bone is an Upper YA Viking Historical Romance perfect for fans of The First Girl Child by Amy Harmon, Sky in the Deep and The Girl the Sea Gave Back by Adrienne Young, and Tricia Levenseller's Warrior of the Wild. There are violent scenes within the pages.

Praise for With Shield and Ink and Bone:
“An exhilarating Viking-inspired fantasy, With Shield and Ink and Bone by Casey L. Bond keeps your nerves teetering on the blade of an ax!” - Lani Forbes, award-winning author of the Age of the Seventh Sun series

“With Shield and Ink and Bone is a fast-paced, vivid, and mesmerizing tale that will keep you hooked from beginning to end. If you love Vikings or strong heroines you’ll find lots to enjoy here! Casey L. Bond has woven together unexpected twists, high stakes, romance, and bargains with gods to create this original story for readers.”-Victoria McCombs, author of The Storyteller’s Daughter

“Casey L. Bond has managed to take a classic genre and make it new and fresh. A page turner that kept me staying up late just to know what was going to happen next. Excellent writing, excellent story. Well done!” – Quinn Loftis, USA Today bestselling author of the Grey Wolves series and The Viking’s Chosen

“With ink and will and imagination, Casey gifts us with an epic heroine in Liv. Spun from the weavers’ web, her story is one of innocence, tragedy, and rebirth – culminating in a fierce love that will stand the test of time … and the test of the gods.” – Tish Thawer, award-winning author

"With Shield and Ink and Bone writhes with magic, history, and lore that enchanted and entrapped me." - Olivia Wildenstein, USA Today Bestselling author of The Boulder Wolves