Author: Douglas Clegg

Category: Horror

Regular price: $9.99

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: October 11, 2020

Deal ends: October 11, 2020

Description:

Home is where the haunt is. "Fans of Stephen King and Dean Koontz will appreciate this atmospheric gem." ????? "Kept me on the edge of my seat!"????? A children's game played in the dark brings on a terrifying rampage in this gothic horror page-turner by the NY Times bestselling author of Neverland and The Children's Hour. After the brutal murder of a loved one, Nemo Raglan must return to the New England island he thought he'd escaped for good . . . and the shadowy home called Hawthorn."Douglas Clegg has become the new star in horror fiction, and The Hour Before Dark is his best and most exciting novel to date. This is pure imagination, and it is wearing speed skates." -- Peter Straub, New York Times bestselling author of Ghost Story and, with Stephen King, The Talisman."A classic of modern supernatural horror."*"...An eerie psychological tale of supernatural horror that builds suspense gradually as the characters slowly peel back the layers of their past and face the terrors of their shared childhood. Clegg approaches horror with a stark and vital simplicity that is utterly convincing. Fans of Stephen King and Dean Koontz will appreciate this atmospheric gem." -- Library Journal."I was compelled to keep turning the pages as fear...raised my pulse to racing level from cover to cover." -- DarkEcho.From the Publishers Weekly Starred Review: "Suspenseful and relentlessly spooky, told in economical prose yet peopled by characters as fully realized as one’s own blood kin, this is at once the most artful and most mainstream tale yet from one of horror’s brightest lights." "... A dark,psychologically astute novel that pushes beyond the horror genreand into raw suspense...THE HOUR BEFORE DARK is a powerful and deeply engaging novel of disturbance and redemption...highly recommended to any reader who enjoys Stephen King, Dean Koontz, or Pat Conroy." -- The BookReporter. "In his finest novel to date, Clegg establishes himself firmly as one of the leading authors in the horror genre...Hold onto your chair; The Hour Before Dark is a powerhouse of a read." -- Cemetery Dance Magazine.A gripping read that is refreshingly character-driven, yet still produces a palpable sense of dread." - Fangoria. Books by Douglas CleggThe Children’s HourGoat DancePurityDark of the EyeThe WordsWild ThingsNightmare HouseBad KarmaRed AngelNight CageMischiefThe InfiniteThe AbandonedThe NecromancerIsisThe Hour Before DarkYou Come When I Call YouNaomiThe Nightmare ChroniclesThe Machinery of NightBreederThe Attraction Praise for Douglas Clegg's Fiction"Douglas Clegg knows exactly what scares us, and he knows just how to twist those fears into hair-raising chills..." - Tess Gerritsen, New York Times bestselling author of the Rizzoli & Isles series. "Clegg is the best horror writer of the post-Stephen King generation."— Bentley Little, author of The Policy"Clegg delivers!"— John Saul, bestselling author of Faces of Fear and The Devil's Labyrinth."Clegg is one of the best!"— Richard Laymon"Douglas Clegg is a weaver of nightmares!"— Robert R. McCammonauthor of The Queen of Bedlam and Speaks The Nightbird.