Author: Roy Lewis

Category: Mysteries

Regular price: $0.99

Deal price: Free

Deal starts: August 06, 2022

Deal ends: August 06, 2022

Description:

YOUR NEW CRIME FICTION OBSESSION STARTS HERE.

Are you seeking an enticing new mystery series, filled with first-rate characters, and breathtaking twists and turns?Then meet Arnold Landon, mild-mannered history buff turned amateur sleuth.Read the first book in Roy Lewis’s bestselling Arnold Landon series.“The skilful Mr Lewis has made Arnold Landon

an unforgettable character

.”

New York Times

“A

most appealing

English mystery with intimations of the mediaeval past. Mr Lewis ties all of this convincingly,

making us care about the likeable rural types

who are parties to the proceedings.”

Publishers Weekly

“Tough local politics and

a surprise solution

.”

The Times

Originally published as

A Gathering of Ghosts

.

IT STARTS WITH A SIMPLE PLANNING REQUEST . . .

Rampton Farm, Northumberland, has always been a gloomy, godforsaken place. Now it’s earmarked for demolition — to make way for just another tawdry amusement park.It will be progress. And nothing can stand in the way.Except perhaps Arnold Landon, the Planning Officer who must glean the lie of the land.Medieval architecture is Arnold’s passion. And scouting the grounds, he makes a thrilling discovery.

The Old Wheat Barn.

He is captivated the moment he crosses the threshold. Its walls echo with whispers of the past.Then and there, he realises he must save it from the developers. But his efforts meet with hostile resistance. And then the barn offers up its most shocking secret yet.

A dead body, sprawled in the straw

.What other crimes lay hidden in the dark history of the barn? Arnold won’t rest until he uncovers the truth.

Murder in the Barn

marks the beginning of an addictive new series, featuring an unlikely hero whose passions run deep.Fans of Elly Griffiths, Peter James, P.D. James, Damien Boyd, Helen H. Durrant, JD Kirk, Bill Kitson and Peter Robinson will devour this intriguing new mystery.

What everyone is saying about

Murder in the Barn

“An unusual book, with a pronounced streak of poetry that poses some problems very much in today’s public consciousness.”

Newgate Callendar

“Lovely feel for the past and parts rural in this calmly flowing story.”

Scotsman

“Enthusiastic battle against academic opposition.”

Oxford Times

THE DETECTIVE

Planning Officer Arnold Landon is somewhat inhibited and painfully aware of his lack of academic background. He lives in the North East of England and as self-taught archaeologist he confounds academic experts with his detailed knowledge, which involves him in a local murder. His expertise brings him promotion in due course to the Archaeology Department where he meets frustration, which he nevertheless overcomes by making important discoveries of ancient artefacts while playing a leading role in solving local crimes. A succession of opportunities for further promotion pass him by because of his desire to remain in touch with the detailed history of sites in Northumberland and this leads to further conflict, first with his inadequate superior and then with the stunningly beautiful Karen Stannard and, later in his career, the Italian archaeologist Carmela Cacciatore.

ARNOLD LANDON SERIES

Book 1: MURDER IN THE BARNBook 2: MURDER IN THE MANORBook 3: MURDER IN THE FARMHOUSEBook 4: MURDER IN THE STABLEYARDBook 5: MURDER IN THE CHURCHBook 6: MURDER IN THE HOUSEBook 7: MURDER IN THE TOWERBook 8: MURDER UNDER THE BRIDGEBook 9: MURDER BY THE QUAYBook 10: MURDER AT THE FOLLYBook 11: MURDER IN THE FIELDBook 12: MURDER IN THE COTTAGEBook 13: MURDER AT HAGGBURN HALLBook 14: MURDER ON THE GOLF COURSEBook 15: MURDER ON THE DAWN PRINCESS