Humor books for readers…

Fluke – Or, I Know Why the Winged Whale Sings

Just why do humpback whales sing? That's the question that has marine behavioral biologist Nate Quinn and his crew poking, charting, recording, and photographing very big, wet, gray marine mammals. Until the extraordinary day when a whale lifts its tail into the air...

Please Don’t Eat the Daisies

The “refreshing . . . laugh-out-loud” #1 New York Times bestseller about life in the suburbs that was adapted into a classic film comedy (Kirkus Reviews).   One day, Tony Award–winning playwright Jean Kerr packed up her four kids (and husband, Walter, one of...

Laughs, Luck…and Lucy

Jess Oppenheimer, the man Lucille Ball called the "brains" of "I Love Lucy", gives us a rare first-hand look at television history as it was being made. A rich entertainment resource, "Laughs, Luck…and Lucy" features a hilarious memoir, and scores of rare photos,...

Out of Sorts

Ferdinand Brun hasn’t always been a grumpy old man. Many years ago, he was a grumpy young man. Now he’d much rather spend time with his canine companion, Daisy, than any of his nosy neighbors. But as his behavior becomes increasingly peculiar, his daughter grows...

An Embarrassment of Riches

"A masterpiece!"--Colin Quinn"The Irish family at the heart of this hilarious novel is so tawdry and despicable, it's a wonder they don't kill off each other in the first few pages. ...The central figure is Ursula, whose husband had won the lottery and has since...

F for Effort

From the author of the national bestseller F in Exams comes a brand new compendium of hilarious and inventive wrong test answers and homework hiccups. Featuring gems from elementary school ("two halves make a whale"), middle grades (Q: What does "germinate" mean? A:...

The Book of Polly

For readers of Saving CeeCee Honeycutt, Joshilyn Jackson, and Fannie Flagg, with a touch of Terms of EndearmentA laugh-out-loud funny yet poignant novel about a daughter determined not only to keep her mother among the living but to find out the secrets of her...

Love and Other Subjects

**2013 Independent Publisher Book Award, Silver Medalist--Best Fiction--Mid-Atlantic Region****2013 San Francisco Book Festival--Finalist**For every woman who wonders if she chose the right career…In Love and Other Subjects Carolyn Jenkins strives for two things—to be...

In Persuasion Nation

From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Man Booker Prize-winning novel Lincoln in the Bardo and the story collection Tenth of December, a 2013 National Book Award Finalist for Fiction. Talking candy bars, baby geniuses, disappointed mothers, castrated...

How to Travel With a Salmon

“Impishly witty and ingeniously irreverent” essays on topics from cell phones to librarians, by the author of The Name of the Rose and Foucault’s Pendulum (The Atlantic Monthly).   A cosmopolitan curmudgeon the Los Angeles Times called “the Andy Rooney of...