Daughters of the Resistance by Lana Kortchik

Author: Lana Kortchik

Category: Historical Fiction

Regular price: $3.99

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: April 30, 2021

Deal ends: April 30, 2021

Description:

‘This book has it all: history, suspense, love, loss, and a wonderful narrative that kept me turning page after page… A stunning novel that I truly love and recommend’ NetGalley Reviewer, 5 stars
___Ukraine, 1943On a train from Ukraine to Germany, Lisa Smirnova is terrified for her life. The train is under Nazi command, heading for one of Hitler’s rumoured labour camps. As she is taken away from everything she holds dear, Lisa wonders if she will ever see her family again.In Nazi-occupied Kiev, Irina Antonova knows she could be arrested at any moment. Trapped in a job registering the endless deaths of the people of Kiev, she risks her life every day by secretly helping her neighbours, while her husband has joined the Soviet partisans, who are carrying out life-threatening work to frustrate the German efforts.When Lisa’s train is intercepted by the partisans, Irina’s husband among them, these women’s lives will take an unimaginable turn. As Irina fights to protect her family and Lisa is forced to confront the horrors of war, together they must make an impossible decision: what would they be willing to lose to save the people they love?Be swept away by this heart-wrenching novel of love, resilience and courage in World War II, from the author of Sisters of War – perfect for readers who loved The Tattooist of Auschwitz and The German Midwife.****Readers love Lana Kortchik’s WWII novels…‘Had me hooked from the first page… beautiful, harrowing and heart-breaking’ NetGalley Reviewer, 5 stars‘A stunning story following two women in war-torn Kiev in 1943… 100% recommend’ Goodreads reviewer‘Unlike any other WW2 book I've read! … a real eye opener for me. It was fascinating’ NetGalley Reviewer‘Oh my heart! Such a beautiful story. Can't wait to read it again!’ Amazon reviewer, 5 stars‘Pulled at my heartstrings and brought tears to my eyes. You really must read this book’ Amazon reviewer‘A powerful and hard-hitting novel’ Deborah Swift, author of The Lady’s Slipper