Off Balance

Author: Terez Mertes Rose

Category: Womens Fiction & Chic Lit

Regular price: $0.99

Deal price: Free

Deal starts: September 18, 2020

Deal ends: September 18, 2020

Description:

Alice thinks she’s accepted the loss of her ballet career, injury having forced her to trade in pointe shoes onstage for spreadsheets upstairs. That is, until the day Alice's boss asks her to befriend Lana, a pretty new company member he’s got his eye on. Lana represents all Alice has lost, not just as a ballet dancer, but as a motherless daughter. It’s pain she’s kept hidden, even from herself, as every good ballet dancer knows to do. Lana, lonely and unmoored, desperately needs some help, and her mother, back home, vows eternal support. But when Lana begins to profit from Alice’s advice and help, her mother’s constant attention curdles into something more sinister. Together, both women must embark on a journey of painful rediscoveries, not just about career opportunities won and lost, but the mothers they thought they knew. OFF BALANCE takes the reader beyond the glitter of the stage to expose the sweat and struggle, amid the mandate to sustain the illusion at all cost.Advance Praise for OFF BALANCE"Any readers who have ever grappled to find the courage to strengthen or to soften, to embrace a dream or to let go of one, will find themselves rooting for the two willful, yet wounded, protagonists in Terez Mertes Rose's edgy debut, OFF BALANCE. I loved this exquisitely written, fast-paced novel from the first page to the last." -- Sandra Kring, bestselling author of The Book of Bright Ideas “The demands of the stage—or memories of it—bring two lifelong dancers into an unlikely friendship that helps them face their respective breaking points. Powerfully rendered, sensuously artistic and hauntingly beautiful, OFF BALANCE is on track to become one of my favorite reads of the year.” -- Tara Staley, author of Need to Breathe and Conditions are Favorable"... A realistic and gripping account of the grittier side of ballet." -- Grier Cooper, author of Wish

Perfectly Imperfect

Author: Jacquie Biggar

Category: Womens Fiction & Chic Lit

Regular price: $2.99

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: September 16, 2020

Deal ends: September 22, 2020

Description:

What happens when Miss Perfection clashes with Mr. Casual?
Chaos!

Georgina's in trouble. The startup money she borrowed from her parents' retirement fund is long gone and her dream of owning the next big thing in market-to-table cuisine disappeared with it.
Her only choice? Merge her company into the corporate giant, CLO, and hope she isn't making a huge mistake.

Rhys Turner is his father's progeny, born and raised to take over the empire when his dad deems him ready. Rhys doesn't mind the fast-paced lifestyle, though he detests the coldblooded mantra of the corporation- Buy from the weak and sell at a profit.
It's made his family millions. But now, just when CLO's reins are within reach, he's run into the one woman who could change everything.

Life and Other Near-Death Experiences

Author: Camille Pagán

Category: Womens Fiction & Chic Lit

Regular price: $4.49

Deal price: $1.99

Deal starts: September 16, 2020

Deal ends: September 16, 2020

Description:

Libby Miller has always been an unwavering optimist—but when her husband drops a bomb on their marriage the same day a doctor delivers devastating news, she realizes her rose-colored glasses have actually been blinding her.With nothing left to lose, she abandons her life in Chicago for the clear waters and bright beaches of the Caribbean for what might be her last hurrah. Despite her new sunny locale, her plans go awry when she finds that she can’t quite outrun the past or bring herself to face an unknowable future. Every day of tropical bliss may be an invitation to disaster, but with her twin brother on her trail and a new relationship on the horizon, Libby is determined to forget about fate. Will she risk it all to live—and love—a little longer?From critically acclaimed author Camille Pagán comes a hilarious and hopeful story about a woman choosing between a “perfect” life and actually living.

The Happy Home for Ladies

Author: Lilly Bartlett

Category: Womens Fiction & Chic Lit

Regular price: $9.99

Deal price: Free

Deal starts: September 15, 2020

Deal ends: September 15, 2020

Description:

“Warms my soul… such a joy to read… like a breath of fresh air.” Jaffa Reads TooMeet Phoebe, who’s 28, and Laney, Dot and Maggie, who are 68, 78, and none of your business.Together they'll prove that age doesn’t matter when it comes to friendship, togetherness and an unquenchable zest for life.The residents of the Happy Home for Ladies have a big problem. Terrence, the owner’s mean-spirited father, is about to move into their famously all-female senior living home. Far from coasting into their twilight years, these women have a lot of living to do. And they’re planning to do it where the toilet seats stay firmly down.The home’s chef, Phoebe, is desperate to help her friends plot to keep the all-women community that means so much to them. It’s become her life raft, too. Her job might be the only thing that finally makes her parents proud. If only Phoebe’s (probably hopeless) love, Nick, wasn’t lining up on the other side of the battle. The stakes couldn’t be higher for everyone. Unless the home’s owner can improve business by moving men in, he’s going to close it down. Then the women will lose everything. Meet your new best friends in this gorgeous, uplifting and hilarious new romantic comedy with all the camaraderie of The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel and life-affirming joy of The Rosie Project. Fans of Elin Hilderbrand, Sophie Kinsella and Matchmaking for Beginners will devour this book!“Satisfying self-discovery and a sweet journey to love.” Publishers Weekly “So engaging and witty” Sophie Kinsella, #1 New York Times bestseller“A funny, feel-good romcom… the perfect read to curl up with.” The SUN, the UK’s biggest newspaper “The perfect way to lose yourself! ” Debbie Johnson, winner of the RNA’s Contemporary Romantic Novel of the Year 2017What readers are saying“What a refreshing change to have a story with older folk in it! Great fun to read… I enjoyed every page of this gentle, lovely story… everything a chick lit should be… very, very enjoyable.” Author Lilac Mills“Will make you smile and make you think about old age in a new way that is refreshing and welcome. I thoroughly enjoyed this book from start to finish.” Books of All Kinds“A fun rom-com page turner … I think this may be my favourite Lilly Bartlett novel. A wonderfully entertaining rom-com that kept me hooked till the end.” Sally Akins“A brilliant romantic comedy … great characters across the generations! … plenty of surprises… enthralling and inspiring.” Splashes into Books “A fun, uplifting read… warm likeable and easily recognisable characters, great comedic scenes… I loved this story of friendship, of comradeship, of new beginnings. Lilly Bartlett has created another wonderful tale filled with lots of fun, laughter, tears and love.” Krafti Reader“Oh this was a fun book to read! All’s well that ends well — it’s just getting there that causes a whole lot of laughs!!” 5 Stars Miki’s Hope“Quirky characters, plenty of laughs, and a lot of feel good moments… a sweet setting… the pacing was great… a very enjoyable chick lit read.” Chick Lit Plus“A sheer and utter delight of a story!” 5 Stars Mrs Mommy Booknerd “Filled with fun, laughs and feel-good moments. The heart of the story is full of hope.”Lis, Netgalley* * * * *“The story had me hooked from the very beginning and I found it difficult to put down.”Suzy, Amazon* * * * *“A fantastic, warm-hearted, lovely book about friendship.”Natasha, Netgalley* * * * *“Sweet story with some bite!”Sally, Amazon* * * * * “The right mix of heart-warming, poignant and very funny moments.”Gemma, Netgalley

Lucky’s Beach

Author: Shelley Noble

Category: Womens Fiction & Chic Lit

Regular price: $9.99

Deal price: $2.99

Deal starts: September 14, 2020

Deal ends: September 14, 2020

Description:

New York Times bestselling author Shelley Noble takes her readers on another beach adventure where a young woman discovers the power of family and forgiveness.School teacher Julie Barlow and her two best friends, Beth and Aggie, are looking forward to an adults only beach vacation. Julie also plans to use the time to figure out why her perfectly planned life has gone terribly amiss. They’ve barely hit the road when a frantic call from Julie’s mother hijacks their best laid plans. Uncle Tony “Lucky” Costa is missing. Always entertaining, often irresponsible, never reliable, Uncle Lucky was a favorite with her friends.  For Julie, for whom he’d been a sometimes surrogate father, not so much. Her mother wants them to take a “teeny” detour to look for the irascible retired surfer. Julie makes excuses. After all, she was the one who decided she never wanted to see Lucky again. Overruled in this as she is in much of her life, Julie and her friends detour to   Lucky’s latest scheme, Lucky’s Beach Bar and Grill.  They find it tucked away in a quaint coastal town on the Delaware coast. With a crescent beach of white sand, large waves, plenty of tanned young men, a lively night life, it’s a perfect beach getaway. Beth and Aggie see good times ahead, Julie is determined to get through it as quickly as possible. But that will change as she gets to know Lucky’s friends and confidantes. The taciturn bartender, the loyal housekeeper, the local fortune teller, the whole town shares a determination to protect him. But from what? Soon Julie and her friends are swept up in an effort to save the town's—and Lucky’s— most closely guarded secret. And Julie begins to see her uncle in a new light. Julie Barlow has a few things to learn about life—and love—and sacrifice. Her lesson begins this summer at Lucky’s Beach.

The Korean Word For Butterfly

Author: Jamie Zerndt

Category: Womens Fiction & Chic Lit

Regular price: $0.99

Deal price: Free

Deal starts: September 13, 2020

Deal ends: September 13, 2020

Description:

Set against the backdrop of the 2002 World Cup and rising anti-American sentiment due to a deadly accident involving two young Korean girls and a U.S. tank, The Korean Word For Butterfly is told from three alternating points-of-view:Billie, the young wanna-be poet looking for adventure with her boyfriend who soon finds herself questioning her decision to travel so far from the comforts of American life;Moon, the ex K-pop band manager who now works at the English school struggling to maintain his sobriety in hopes of getting his family back;And Yun-ji , a secretary at the school whose new feelings of resentment toward Americans may lead her to do something she never would have imagined possible. The Korean Word For Butterfly is a story about the choices we make and why we make them. It is a story, ultimately, about the power of love and redemption.**Warning: This book deals with the following themes: racism, abortion, alcoholism, and child abuse**