This Proud Heart

Author: Pearl S. Buck

Category: Womens Fiction & Chic Lit

Regular price: $9.99

Deal price: $1.99

Deal starts: May 24, 2019

Deal ends: May 24, 2019

Description:

In the 1930s, as her second marriage approaches, a brilliant and independent sculptor faces tensions between her art and everyday life in this novel by the author of The Good Earth. This Proud Heart narrates the experience of a gifted sculptor and her struggle to reconcile her absorbing career with society’s domestic expectations. Susan Gaylord is talented, loving, equipped with a strong moral sense, and adept at anything she puts her hand to, from housework to playing the piano to working with marble and clay. But the intensity of her artistic calling comes at a price, isolating her from other people—at times, even from her own family. When her husband dies and she remarries, she finds herself once again comparing the sacrifice of solitude to that of commitment. With a heroine who is naturalistic yet compellingly larger than life, This Proud Heart is incomparable in its sympathetic study of character.  This ebook features an illustrated biography of Pearl S. Buck including rare images from the author’s estate.

Lucky Kisses

Author: Addison Moore

Category: Womens Fiction & Chic Lit

Regular price: $4.99

Deal price: Free

Deal starts: May 24, 2019

Deal ends: May 24, 2019

Description:

*STANDALONE ROMANCE* All 3:AM Kisses Books are standalone novels* Lawson Kent is a jerk of the highest order. Sure he’s got the face of a god and the body of a prisoner dedicated to pumping iron, but every time he’s in my way my blood boils. His obnoxious mug seems impossible to escape. So when we’re paired together to work on the community interaction project, we call a truce. In fact, the more I hang out with Lawson, the more it seems he really gets me. Not too many people do. Lucky Madden is a mouthy piece of work. Yes, she’s gorgeous to a fault and that’s precisely why her overprotective, tatted up brother, Jet, pays me the big bucks to make sure none of the idiots at Whitney Briggs University land her horizontal. Only, too bad for me, Lucky Madden is the last person I want to hover over every free chance I get. Then one night, she cuts the mouthy routine and does something far more productive with those lips, she kisses me. Now I can’t get Lucky Madden out of my mind. I’m addicted in every single way, and soon enough, the only person her brother will want to rip to pieces is me. From the NEW YORK TIMES and USA TODAY bestselling author, Addison Moore— Cosmopolitan Magazine calls Addison's books, "...easy, frothy fun!"

The Dr Pepper Prophecies

Author: Jennifer Gilby Roberts

Category: Womens Fiction & Chic Lit

Regular price: $3.99

Deal price: $2.99

Deal starts: May 23, 2019

Deal ends: May 23, 2019

Description:

A British chick lit romantic comedy novel for fans of Bridget Jones, Sophie Kinsella and best friend romance.This book is the first in the Parker Sisters British chick lit series, but can be read as a standalone (no cliffhanger).25-year-old Mel Parker has a few tiny problems:* Her job is terrible* She's been dumped yet again (and her ex is now her boss)* Her parents think she's a loser compared to her perfect younger sister* All her efforts to improve her life seem doomed to failure* There just isn't enough chocolate in the world to make up for the above.The best thing in her life has always been her best friend Will, who has seen her through every crisis from lost toys to pregnancy scares. But his girlfriend (who's prettier, better-dressed, more successful and secretly evil) is determined to replace Mel as the woman in his life and how is Mel supposed to compete?And what do you do when you've pretty much given up on your own life? You help others, of course! Whether they like it or not.After all, what's the worst that could happen?~~~~A laugh out loud British chick lit romantic comedy novel based (loosely) on Jane Austen's Emma.Over 25,000 downloads and counting!Bronze Medal Winner in the Readers' Favorite Book Awards 2014 - Chick Lit. ~~~~ Selected praise for The Dr Pepper Prophecies: 'I can honestly say that Jennifer Gilby Roberts is now at the top of my list of favorite chick lit authors along with Sophie Kinsella.' -- Readers' Favorite'Roberts has done an admirable job of updating Austen's classic Emma for today's chick lit sensibilities.... The book starts out with one of the funniest scenes I've ever read.'-- Chick Lit Central'This is a very enjoyable and humourous holiday read ... as good as some of the Jane Green/Wendy Holden/Adele Parks books.'-- A. Rose, Amazon Top 500 Reviewer'This was seriously one of the funniest books I have read in a long time.' -- Chick Lit Plus'Like the titular beverage, The Dr Pepper Prophecies is sweet, frothy and immediately rewarding. It may not count as one of your five-a-day, but you'll feel a hell of a lot better for it afterwards.'-- Best Chick LitFans of British chick lit romantic comedy novels should click on the orange button now (Amazon Prime and Kindle Unlimited members can read it FREE).

Northwest Corner

Author: John Burnham Schwartz

Category: Womens Fiction & Chic Lit

Regular price: $9.99

Deal price: $1.99

Deal starts: May 22, 2019

Deal ends: May 22, 2019

Description:

“Nuanced and moving . . . [a] story about the indestructible bonds of family.”—The New York TimesFrom John Burnham Schwartz, one of the our most compelling and compassionate writers, comes a riveting novel about the complex, fierce, ultimately inspiring resilience of families in the face of life’s most difficult and unexpected challenges. Twelve years after a tragic accident and a cover-up that led to prison time, Dwight Arno, at fifty, is a man who has started over without exactly moving on. Living alone in California, Dwight manages a sporting goods store and dates a woman to whom he hasn’t revealed the truth about his past. Then Sam, Dwight’s estranged college-age son, shows up without warning, fleeing a devastating incident in his own life. As the two men are forced to confront their similar natures and their half-buried hopes for connection, they must also search for redemption in their attempts to rewrite, outrun, or eradicate the past.  Praise for Northwest Corner“A great American novel.”—Abraham Verghese “One of the most emotionally commanding novels of the year."—NPR “Exhilarating . . . In Schwartz’s hands, the narrative unfolds delicately, each chapter a puzzle piece that fits seamlessly into the whole. [Grade:] A.”—Entertainment Weekly “A compelling tale of a family . . . finding their way back together again.”—The Christian Science Monitor “Stark and deeply affecting . . . Readers will grow to care deeply about whether and how [the characters’] lives can be redeemed.”—Kirkus Reviews (starred review) “The masterful Northwest Corner is that finest of things—a moral novel about mortal events.”—Dennis Lehane

The Golden Cup

Author: Belva Plain

Category: Womens Fiction & Chic Lit

Regular price: $7.00

Deal price: $1.99

Deal starts: May 21, 2019

Deal ends: May 21, 2019

Description:

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The triumphant saga that began in Evergreen continuesA woman of hidden desires, Hennie De Rivera has none of the wealth enjoyed by her relatives, the Werner banking dynasty. But tall, shy Hennie has grand dreams, especially of daring activist Dan Roth, who invites controversy by fighting for New York's poorest immigrants. Breaking society's rules might have devastating consequences for this passionate woman—and for her nephew Paul Werner, who weds his debutante fiancée while still yearning for his mother's beautiful maid, Anna Friedman. And amid heartbreaking discoveries and the gathering clouds of World War I, the stirring family saga begun in Evergreen continues with an unforgettable tale of forbidden passions, intimate secrets, and sweeping social change. . . .

The Sometimes Sisters

Author: Carolyn Brown

Category: Womens Fiction & Chic Lit

Regular price: $4.99

Deal price: $1.99

Deal starts: May 21, 2019

Deal ends: May 21, 2019

Description:

A bittersweet inheritance reunites three estranged sisters in a novel of family, trust, and forgiveness from New York Times bestselling author Carolyn Brown.When they were growing up, Dana, Harper, and Tawny thought of themselves as “sometimes sisters.” They connected only during the summer month they’d all spend at their grandmother’s rustic lakeside resort in north Texas. But secrets started building, and ten years have passed since they’ve all been together—in fact, they’ve rarely spoken, and it broke their grandmother’s heart.Now she’s gone, leaving Annie’s Place to her granddaughters—twelve cabins, a small house, a café, a convenience store, and a lot of family memories. It’s where Dana, Harper, and Tawny once shared so many good times. They’ve returned, sharing only hidden regrets, a guarded mistrust, and haunting guilt. But now, in this healing summer place, the secrets that once drove them apart could bring them back together—especially when they discover that their grandmother may have been hiding something, too…To overcome the past and find future happiness, these “sometimes sisters” have one more chance to realize they are always family.An Amazon Charts bestseller.