Plato and a Platypus Walk Into a Bar…

Author: Daniel Klein, Thomas Cathcart

Category: Humor

Regular price: $9.99

Deal price: $2.51

Deal starts: June 22, 2021

Deal ends: June 22, 2021

Description:

New York Times Bestseller: This entertaining-yet-enlightening crash course on philosophy is "an extraordinary read" (Orlando Sentinel).

Here's a lively, hilarious, not-so-reverent journey through the great philosophical traditions, schools, concepts, and thinkers. It's Philosophy 101 for everyone who knows not to take all this heavy stuff too seriously. Some of the Big Ideas covered are Existentialism (what do Hegel and Bette Midler have in common?), Philosophy of Language (how to express what it's like being stranded on a desert island with Halle Berry), Feminist Philosophy (why, in the end, a man is always a man), and much more. Finally -- it all makes sense!

"A hoot." -- Chicago Sun-Times

"An extraordinary read you'll want to share with as many people as possible." -- Orlando Sentinel

"The zaniest bestseller of the year." -- The Boston Globe

God-Level Knowledge Darts

God-Level Knowledge Darts by Desus Nice

Author: Desus Nice, The Kid Mero

Category: Humor

Regular price: $13.99

Deal price: $2.99

Deal starts: June 21, 2021

Deal ends: June 21, 2021

Description:

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • “Desus & Mero are smarter and funnier than everyone writing books.”—Shea Serrano
“I will never write anything as hilarious as they have. I give up.”—Malcolm Gladwell
“These motherf***ers make me laugh until I choke.”—Jia Tolentino
 
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY NPR

A wild, hilarious guide to life from the hosts of the hit late-night show Desus & Mero and the Bodega Boys podcast

Who could have predicted that, after a fateful meeting in a Bronx summer school in the 1990s, Desus & Mero would turn their friendship into an empire of talking to each other. And it’s no surprise—tuning in to them is like listening to the funniest, smartest people you know dissect a topic and then light it on fire. Now they’ve written the most essential guide to life of this century*, in which all the important questions are asked: How do I talk to my kids about drugs if I do them, too? What are the ethics of ghosting in a relationship? How do I bet on sports? How should I behave in jail? How much is too much to spend on sneakers? Is porn really that bad for me?
 
As they put it: “We want to share all we’ve learned, after years in the Bronx streets, with you: the people. So with a lifetime spent building up a plethora of information from trials and tribulations and a handful of misdemeanors, we decided to write this book—a sequel to the Bible, or maybe to The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy,depending on how big a nerd you are. Let this book be your North Star.”
 
*NO REFUNDS

The Pisces

Author: Melissa Broder

Category: Humor

Regular price: $13.99

Deal price: $4.99

Deal starts: June 20, 2021

Deal ends: June 20, 2021

Description:

LONGLISTED FOR THE CENTER FOR FICTION FIRST NOVEL PRIZE
LONGLISTED FOR THE WOMEN'S PRIZE FOR FICTION

"Bold, virtuosic, addictive, erotic - there is nothing like The Pisces. I have no idea how Broder does it, but I loved every dark and sublime page of it." -- Stephanie Danler, author of Sweetbitter

Lucy has been writing her dissertation on Sappho for nine years when she and her boyfriend break up in a dramatic flameout. After she bottoms out in Phoenix, her sister in Los Angeles insists Lucy dog-sit for the summer. Annika's home is a gorgeous glass cube on Venice Beach, but Lucy can find little relief from her anxiety -- not in the Greek chorus of women in her love addiction therapy group, not in her frequent Tinder excursions, not even in Dominic the foxhound's easy affection.

Everything changes when Lucy becomes entranced by an eerily attractive swimmer while sitting alone on the beach rocks one night. But when Lucy learns the truth about his identity, their relationship, and Lucy's understanding of what love should look like, take a very unexpected turn. A masterful blend of vivid realism and giddy fantasy, pairing hilarious frankness with pulse-racing eroticism, THE PISCES is a story about falling in obsessive love with a merman: a figure of Sirenic fantasy whose very existence pushes Lucy to question everything she thought she knew about love, lust, and meaning in the one life we have.

Holiday SOS

Holiday SOS by Ben MacFarlane

Author: Ben MacFarlane

Category: Humor

Regular price: $3.99

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: June 19, 2021

Deal ends: June 19, 2021

Description:

Who are you going to call if it all goes wrong on holiday?

Meet Doctor Ben MacFarlane. His job is to bring people back to Britain after holiday disasters, gap year crises, embarrassing incidents on business trips and all the other things that can go wrong when we head off overseas.

Holiday SOS is his story - a year in the life of a very British flying doctor. Follow Ben as he grabs his medical bag and flies to glamorous locations - helping to pick up the pieces after another holiday emergency.

Dramatic, hilarious and wildly unexpected, emergency medicine doesn't just take place in intensive care wards - it can happen just across the aisle on your next flight.

Praise for Holiday SOS:
‘Will have you engrossed’ - Sunday Herald

'Packed with tales of derring-do … it's terrific, a riveting read’ - The Independent

'A mixture of shocking, moving and at times very funny stories … an eye-opener for any holidaymaker’ - Now magazine

Ben MacFarlane graduated in medicine in 2000 and started carrying out medical repatriations in the spring of 2001. He has worked in several hospitals overseas, in a major London teaching hospital and on a series of cruise ships around the world.

My Dead Dad Was in ZZ Top

My Dead Dad Was in ZZ Top by Jon Glaser

Author: Jon Glaser

Category: Humor

Regular price: $8.99

Deal price: $1.99

Deal starts: June 18, 2021

Deal ends: June 18, 2021

Description:

With this shocking tell-all, revealing the all-true, 100% fake secrets about music’s biggest names, Jon Glaser—a writer for Late Night with Conan O'Brien, and the creator and star of Adult Swim’s Delocated—is about to rock the world of, well, rock and roll. The long-buried (or possibly, never-yet-imagined) dreadful secrets of music’s most notable talents—including Prince’s bar mitvah remixes, Fleetwood Mac’s deals with McDonald’s, and more—are, in the vein of John Hodgman’s More Information Than You Require and The Onion’s Our Dumb Century, a wry and blasphemous tribute to the popular culture icons we hold dear.

A Man With One of Those Faces

Author: Caimh McDonnell

Category: Humor

Regular price: $4.99

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: June 17, 2021

Deal ends: June 17, 2021

Description:

The first time somebody tried to kill him was an accident.

The second time was deliberate.

Now Paul Mulchrone finds himself on the run with nobody to turn to except a nurse who has read one-too-many crime novels and a renegade copper with a penchant for violence. Together they must solve one of the most notorious crimes in Irish history...

... or else they'll be history.

A Man With One of Those Faces is the first book in Caimh McDonnell's Dublin Trilogy, which melds fast-paced action with a distinctly Irish acerbic wit.

Praise for A Man With One of Those Faces:

"One of the funniest crime books you could read." The Express

"A brilliant comedic thriller." The Irish Post

"It's just crying out to be made into a movie. The writing is whip-smart and funny." Books Ireland Magazine

"I was hooked by the end of the first page. Clever writing. Funny plot. Good characters." The Sun-Gazette

"Humorous crime at its finest. Droll, witty and highly entertaining. The writing is skilled and captivating." ***** Audiothing

"A masterclass... The prose and narrative is spot on. The characters inhabiting this hilarious, yet gripping story are just wonderful." ***** Strange Alliances

"A riotous read. Flipping easily between humour and terror so that I spent most of the book sat on the edge of my seat while chuckling." **** Cleopatra Loves Books

"Original, innovative, intelligent and laugh out loud funny." Maureen Carter, author of the Bev Morriss books

"If you like stories by Colin Bateman, Carl Hiaasen, Tim Dorsey and Janet Evanovich then you'll enjoy A Man With One of Those Faces." **** The View from the Blue House