Author: Margaret Mayhew

Category: Historical Fiction

Regular price: $4.99

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: February 05, 2021

Deal ends: February 05, 2021

Description:

From bestselling author Margaret Mayhew, a gripping wartime page-turner, full of the tension, emotion and adventure of World War II. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn, Donna Douglas and Rosie Clarke. READERS ARE LOVING BLUEBIRDS!"Beautifully written and...so well researched" - 5 STARS"Writes exceptionally well and, in particular,catches the mood of the time" - 5 STARS"If you like ww2 stories that are a good authentic read, her books are the best I've read and I've read quite a lot." - 5 STARS"From the very start this book grabbed me" - 5 STARS"Well written story, fabulous mix of characters, really could not put this book down" - 5 STARS*******************************************************BRAVE AIRWOMEN UNITE IN THE FACE OF WORLD WAR II1939: Officer Felicity Newman and a ragtag group of young women arrive at RAF Colston. They are the first of the Women's Auxiliary Air Force: brave female pilots ready to do their bit.But Station Commander, David Palmer, doesn't want them. They're a nuisance, unable to do the work of men, and they would undoubtedly fall apart if the station was bombed.Felicity is determined to prove the worth of her 'Bluebirds'. There's Anne, who loves to dance but finds herself peeling vegetables in the station kitchens. Winnie, who longs to work on the aeroplanes themselves but meets rejection at every turn. And Virginia, who is desperate to build a new life for herself.As the war goes on, so the girls make their mark - behaving heroically under fire, supporting the pilots with their strength, loyalty, and often their love - a love sometimes tragic, sometimes passionate, but always courageous....