Rising (The Rising Series, Book 1)

Author: Holly Kelly

Category: Teen & Young Adult

Regular price: $5.99

Deal price: Free

Deal starts: October 21, 2017

Deal ends: October 21, 2017

Description:

Rising is perfect for fans of Carrie Anne Noble’s The Mermaid’s Sister, Kiera Case’ The Siren, and Anna Banks’ Of Poseidon. In a war between the humans and the inhabitants of the sea—humans will lose. Xanthus Dimitriou—the most lethal Dagonian to rise from the ocean—is on a mission to save mankind from annihilation. But first there’s one small thing he needs to do… kill a beautiful young woman in a wheelchair.Killing her doesn’t start out as part of his plan. He entrenches himself deep in the human world. Aligning himself with his enemies, he prepares to send them to Triton to face their punishment. Then Sara Taylor rolls onto the scene. Xanthus knows at once she’s a criminal. And her crime? Being born. She’s a human/Dagonian half-breed, an abomination. Killing her should be an easy job. All he has to do is break into her apartment, slit her throat, and feed her body to the sharks. Simple, right? Wrong. If only she weren’t so beautiful, so innocent, so sweet... Saving the world may have to wait. It appears Xanthus has a woman to save. But protecting her may cost him his own life.Praise for Rising:The Good.Holly Kelly wowed me with her first sentence in chapter one: "Xanthus could taste the blood of a human in the sea water."She continued to draw me in with her word choice in the sentences and paragraphs that followed. Vivid, visual, I sunk quickly into the plot and wanted to know why and what did we "humans" do to Xanthus, one of the main characters in the book.The Great.Holly Kelly created this alternative underwater world, exploring the details from the architecture of the cities, to the life dwelling in the depths of the sea. First of all, I want to say how difficult it is to paint a new and different world other than human. A world separate and foreign to what we live and know. I am always in awe of an author who can create this different picture, which leads to my second point, I believed her. Holly Kelly convinced me this world was real: "The Castle of Triton rose in the distance--a colossal fortress with many tall turrets, arched buttresses, and massive windows. Hundreds of sharks circled above and around the castle, guarding their master inside.” The Ohmigoodness.Her heroine Sara intrigued me. A strong twenty-something female, she lived with a huge disability since her birth. She constantly had all these conflicting emotions swimming in her head about herself, her disability, and the doctors who always wanted to fix her. I liked her drive to survive and succeed the most. I found myself relating to Sara,remembering how at one point I wanted to succeed like that, no matter how hard I had to work to pay the bills. I also loved the constant reminder of her insecurities. I think we all have them, and she felt like a real person. I understood her actions. ~ Erika Beebe, a.k.a.Cloud Nine Girl

Beneath These Wings

Author: Wendy Knight

Category: Teen & Young Adult

Regular price: $3.99

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: October 19, 2017

Deal ends: October 20, 2017

Description:

Tresa was taken by the aliens, but she escaped. Changed. Powerful. Terrifying.With the only thing she has left in the world – her dad – and her little nomadic band of humans, she battles the very aliens that made her into the creature she is now, using the powers they gave her.She is a formidable opponent. When she meets Roman – angry, sullen, and yet loyal above all else – they are forced to come to a compromise to keep their teams alive. They don’t like each other, but it’s tolerable.Almost.Danger is something they live with on a daily basis. Starvation, fear, pain. But there’s a darkness coming they can’t prepare for, something that will threaten to tear apart everything they’ve built.There’s something coming for that darkness, something far more terrifying than Tresa.Never trust beautiful things.

Phoenix Child (Children of Fire Series, Book 1)

Author: Alica McKenna-Johnson

Category: Teen & Young Adult

Regular price: $0.99

Deal price: Free

Deal starts: October 04, 2017

Deal ends: December 31, 2017

Description:

There should be a law, a Universal Rule, as to how much weirdness can happen to a person.

Fifteen-year-old Sara walks into the San Francisco Center for the Circus Arts determined to ignore the freaky things happening to her. As powers she doesn't want and can't control overwhelm her, Sara must decide if she can trust the strangers who say they are her family ... descended from a common ancestor four thousand years ago.

Sara clings to her contented and well-planned life as a foster kid, successfully working the system, as dreams, powers, and magical creatures drag her towards her destiny.When the ancient evil that killed her parents comes to San Francisco, Sara is forced to choose between her fears and her desire to protect those she loves.

Sometimes great things are thrust upon us. Sara wishes this supposed 'greatness' didn't include a new name, unicorns, and catching on fire.

In the Blood of the Greeks

Author: Mary D. Brooks

Category: Teen & Young Adult

Regular price: $3.99

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: October 17, 2017

Deal ends: October 22, 2017

Description:

Forbidden love, heart racing suspense, an epic tale set in war ravaged Greece.
In Nazi-occupied Greece, Eva and Zoe -- one a German officer's daughter, the other a young Greek woman filled with fury -- should be enemies. But when fate brings them together, they discover a love that transcends the barriers between them.

Fourteen year old Zoe Lambros' faith in God is shattered after her mother's death at the hands of the German Commander. She determines to defy the enemy in every way she can--including a festering urge to kill the German Commander's daughter, Eva Muller.

Eva Muller has a tortured past, and a secret, if revealed, will lead to certain death at the hands of her father. Despite knowing the risk, Eva is working with the village priest to help the Jews escape. With her activities closely observed, Eva needs help to continue the clandestine operation. Zoe is not who Eva has in mind but they have to find a way to work as a team to accomplish their life saving mission.

Prescient (Delphi Chronicles, Book 1)

Author: D.S. Murphy

Category: Teen & Young Adult

Regular price: $3.99

Deal price: Free

Deal starts: October 18, 2017

Deal ends: October 18, 2017

Description:

You'd think time-travel would be a useful gift for cheating on tests and winning the lottery—stuff like that. I might have enjoyed my ability...if I hadn't discovered earth will soon turn into a wasteland. Bodies rotting in the streets. Wilderness eating away at my hometown. And the modifieds—the zombie-like remains of what used to be the human race.

No one can save the world... except me. Because for me, it hasn't even happened yet. For me, it might never happen.

"A Netflix series-worthy tale that doesn't let up - this crazy ride is full of twists and turns while remaining understandable and relatable. I can't wait for book two!" -Amazon Review"

The Butterfly Code – GMO Humans (Girl On Fire, Book 1)

Author: Sue Wyshynski

Category: Teen & Young Adult

Regular price: $3.99

Deal price: Free

Deal starts: October 18, 2017

Deal ends: October 18, 2017

Description:

My name is Aeris Thorne. I am a genetically modified human. And I'm in serious trouble.

PAINFUL SECRETS.
STARTLING TRUTHS.
UNDENIABLE LOVE.

Strange how all it takes is a tingling glance across a darkened street to change one's life . . .

It's close to midnight when I burst out of the crowded Zenith Club onto an empty sidewalk.

That's where I come face to face with him. The mysterious Hunter Cayman. Dark-haired, tall, and leaning against this insane sports car, he's honestly the hottest guy I've ever seen. My pulse goes haywire. The young doctor watches me, his muscular arms crossed over his leather jacket clad chest. All his six-foot something would make any girl's knees turn weak.

But then, if what my friend Ella says is true, Hunter is the kind of guy who leaves behind a trail of broken hearts. And heartache is the last thing I need right now.

Yet there's something strange, something almost superhuman about Hunter. It's more than his infuriatingly knowing grin. I'm trying to stop thinking about him. I get the feeling he's avoiding me, too. Yet Deep Cove is a tiny town and every time we run into each other the tension literally crackles, sparking around us. It just figures that when suddenly I'm in danger, he's there to save me.

In truth, I should be dead. By all the logic in this world, I should be shattered to pieces. How fast was I going on that ATV when I smashed into those iron gates? Ninety? A hundred? And the men who were chasing me, where did they go?

Somehow I'm whole.

Maybe better than whole.

There's no one I can talk to, not even my best friend, Gage. Gage hates Hunter. He wants Hunter's laboratory to be shut down. He thinks Hunter's a monster. And yet, if that's true, if Hunter's a monster...than what am I? I'm not sure what terrifies me more, the metamorphosis taking place inside me, or the intensely powerful connection with a guy whose heart and soul has become linked with mine.

Get lost in THE BUTTERFLY CODE, the captivating first book in this YA sci-fi romance series.

"Warning!!! Seriously this book will take over your life once you start reading so plan ahead if possible, it is that engrossing."-Tonyalove, Amazon Reviewer ?????
"Easily one of my favorite reads this year! I was completely and utterly consumed!"-Stacy, Amazon Reviewer ?????
"I'll definitely be looking for more books by this author!"-MD, Amazon Reviewer ?????