Author: Lily Stuart

Category: Teen & Young Adult

Regular price: $1.49

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: December 31, 2015

Deal ends: January 01, 2016


THE teen detective is back, and looking for trouble…or rather trouble’s looking for her. They find each other in the series of little mysteries that start cropping up as soon as Lily’s back at school after her brush with death, and meets the new boy, Si. He’s different, like Lily is now, with her occasional narcolepsy and frequent inclination to be a private investigator about everything – but different never featured in the teen girl’s guide to growing up.And whereas Lily watches and works things out, Si blurts it all out at the wrong time and in the wrong way. He has Tourettes. He also has a way with rhymes; one in particular that increasingly makes sense to Lily as the mysteries mount up, including one which might mean murder. One for sorrow, two for joy, three for -But joy is no longer a girl’s name nor the opposite of sad, and the magpies the rhyme is about are not just black and white birds that like stealing treasure. They’re far more deadly than that. As Lily plays girl sleuth and figures out just what they really are, justice looks like the last thing she can hope for – along with coming of age, if they have anything to do with it… Magpies is the second book in the Lily S: Teenage Detective series of suspense thrillers. Interview with the AuthorQ - So, what makes Magpies special? A - It’s completely different. And if you're a fan of Veronica Mars, Nancy Drew, Janet Evanovich's books on Stephanie Plum or Meg Cabot's Size 12 books featuring Heather Wells and want more fly-on-the-wall teenage realism than fictional fantasy, you’ll love it. The characters are based on real life, and as teenagers are the wittiest, craziest people I know; and the most interesting. Who needs fantasy? But there are real life issues involved too, like love, frenemies, being different and fitting in despite that. It’s a coming of age mix of finding themselves and losing themselves too.Q - What order should I read the Lily S: Teenage Detective series books in? A - The series runs in a sequence, with the second book due out shortly, but the stories are complete in themselves. To get the most out of them, though, I think the best order to read in is: - Webs - Magpies - Gone (out Summer 2016)Then you’ll get all the gags, including the long-running ones, and all the back stories.Q - So, why should readers give these books a try? A - When I wrote Webs it started out really dark; noir, and I added Lily to create light within the shade. But everyone who read the book before its publication loved Lily so much, in the end she took over, and they loved it even more. Magpies is less dark, but equally tricky. Even though a teenage detective may be smarter than the average nerd, it doesn’t mean she ”" or her friends ”" can work it all out right first time round. And being a teenage detective definitely makes you NOT one of the crowd; different. That’s a difficult concept for anyone to come to terms with, let alone someone also dealing with emotions, sex, standing by your principles, working out who you can rely on and who you can’t ”" and growing up. Appearances are still deceptive, even when you think there’s nothing else they can hide. This isn’t just a teenage detective series. This is Lily’s life, loves, fixes and dilemmas as well as her private investigation work. Lily is real; sharp, witty, cool, and vulnerable. She’s potentially me at sixteen, or you; and the humour will keep you laughing even as you’re desperately flipping the pages to find out what happens next. Q - Can readers collect the whole series in one go? A - Hop over to my author page here at Amazon to find out how to be the first in the know, and see a full list of my available titles under other pen names. And thanks for reading!