Baby Love

Author: Emmanuelle de Maupassant

Category: Humor

Regular price: $0.99

Deal price: Free

Deal starts: August 20, 2018

Deal ends: August 20, 2018

Description:

A deliciously funny and romantic read, set in British Cornwall.Living in the pretty seaside town of St. Ives, Delphine has a cozy flat overlooking the harbour, a sexy husband and a baby on the way. It's all perfect... until it suddenly isn't!What do you do when the man you thought adored you runs off with your cougar neighbour? Delphine's convinced that she'll never be happy again, but her smarty-pants sisters know better. Whisked off for a spa weekend of pampering, Delphine is expecting a hot stone massage and a pedicure. What she doesn’t see coming is some not-so-innocent flirtation with a hot cowboy. Will Delphine get her groove back? It'll be tough, but oh so much fun to try.This summer's most hilarious comedy romance, for fans of Marian Keyes, Sophie Kinsella, Jenny Colgan, and the Bridget Jones series.Heat level: rather naughty!

Family Reunion

Author: Rod Pennington

Category: Humor

Regular price: $0.99

Deal price: Free

Deal starts: August 19, 2018

Deal ends: August 19, 2018

Description:

***In 2015 World Media Partners acquired the TV and Motion Picture rights to the "Charon Family Adventure" series and hired Rod Pennington to write the TV Pilot.***THE #1 BESTSELLING KINDLE "Dark Comedy"THE #1 BESTSELLING KINDLE "Satire"THE #1 BESTSELLING KINDLE "Political"In this dark comedy you'll meet the Charons. They're your typical dysfunctional family but also happen to be four of the world's best assassins. Father Michael Charon was the head of a division of the CIA that fulfilled so many “wet” hit contracts it was code named “Water Works.” Mother Valerie is a femme fatale who has been leading men to their demise for decades. Then there are the twins, Olivia and Seth. Despite their youth, they are responsible for some of the highest profile “hits” around the world. Years earlier, while still at the CIA, Michael Charon was blindsided by a media leak after a covert mission gone bad, The ensuing scandal created a firestorm in Washington which required a high profile scapegoat. To protect his “Water Works” team, Charon cut a deal. Instead of embarrassing The Company by pointing fingers or naming names, he fell on his own sword. After a seven-year self-imposed exile, when he traveled throughout the Far East, Charon resurfaced in Washington. With unexplained but seemingly unlimited funding, he set up an ultra-high-end boutique security firm. With a knack for getting results in impossible situations and a history of keeping his mouth shut, the services of Sariel International were soon much in demand by the rich and the powerful of the world.Charon’s life is turned upside down when a beautiful but mysterious young woman appears unannounced at his office. He soon learns that members of his old Water Works team have come out of retirement and for unknown reasons are killing each other.When he follows the trail, he discovers the identity of the person who had leaked the story years earlier and the startling reason why. ABOUT THE AUTHORRod Pennington last 12 titles have all gone on to be a #1 Kindle niche Bestseller in multiple categories. His novel The Fourth Awakening has spent over four years as a #1 Bestseller in both the US & UK. When the Spanish language translation was released, it was the #1 Bestselling Foreign Language eBook on all of Amazon.com. In 2013, Rod was featured on the Amazon.com HomepageTo Contact Rod: AskRod@RodPennington.net. Other books in the “Family Series” Family BusinessFamily SecretsFamily HonorFamily Debt

Sunflower Signs

Author: T. Grace Bailey

Category: Humor

Regular price: $2.99

Deal price: Free

Deal starts: August 19, 2018

Deal ends: August 19, 2018

Description:

In our darkest hour, can a deceased love one offer guidance?Emily Mason has never gotten over the death of her childhood love, Danny – though he passed away almost 9 years ago. It’s normal to grieve, but Emily continues to turn to her deceased love whenever she’s upset – often sleeping on his grave for comfort. Emily’s older sister, Ericka, holds a unique gift that alerts her whenever Emily is in peril – which is often. Her fears are many – she’s terrified of people dressed in costumes, thunderstorms, and she refuses to drive a car – preferring to take her bike on errands. Emily relies on her reluctantly psychic older sister to save her on almost a daily basis. Just when Emily’s life begins to completely unravel, Danny leaves her a sign that can’t be ignored. Emily is faced with making a decision that will take her far away from the security of her sister’s care, and the comfort of being near Danny’s final resting place.

Wonder Boys

Author: Michael Chabon

Category: Humor

Regular price: $10.20

Deal price: $2.99

Deal starts: August 17, 2018

Deal ends: August 17, 2018

Description:

The “wise, wildly funny story” of a self-destructive writer’s lost weekend by a Pulitzer Prize–winning, New York Times–bestselling author (Chicago Tribune). A wildly successful first novel made Grady Tripp a young star, and seven years later he still hasn’t grown up. He’s now a writing professor in Pittsburgh, plummeting through middle age, stuck with an unfinishable manuscript, an estranged wife, a pregnant girlfriend, and a talented but deeply disturbed student named James Leer. During one lost weekend at a writing festival with Leer and debauched editor Terry Crabtree, Tripp must finally confront the wreckage made of his past decisions. Mordant but humane, Wonder Boys features characters as loveably flawed as any in American fiction. This ebook features a biography of the author.

Russell Wiley Is Out to Lunch

Author: Richard Hine

Category: Humor

Regular price: $3.99

Deal price: $0.99

Deal starts: August 16, 2018

Deal ends: August 16, 2018

Description:

Russell Wiley is in deep trouble. A media executive for the failing Daily Business Chronicle, his career is teetering on the brink of collapse, and his sexless marriage is fast approaching its expiration date. With his professional and personal lives floundering, it’s no wonder Russell is distracted, unhappy, and losing faith in himself. Making matters worse are his scheming boss, a hot-shot new consultant determined to see Russell ousted, and the beguiling colleague whose mere presence has a disconcerting effect on Russell’s starved libido. Disaster seems imminent…and that’s before he makes a careless mistake that could cost the paper millions. Russell realizes he must take drastic action if he is going to salvage his career, his love life, and what little remains of his self-respect. Sardonic, edgy, and true to life, this gripping novel offers an insider’s view into a newspaper's inner sanctum and the people who oil the wheels of the "old media" machine.

Drive, Ride, Repeat

Author: Al Macy

Category: Humor

Regular price: $4.99

Deal price: Free

Deal starts: August 15, 2018

Deal ends: August 15, 2018

Description:

Author Al Macy is a character and a tightwad with a unique sense of humor. He and his wife squirreled away enough money to retire early, do interesting things, and take unusual trips. As he puts it:“Every day I wake up with nothing to do, and by the end of the day, I've only gotten half of it done.”During his working life, Macy was a neuroscientist, computer game programmer, jazz trombonist, chef, CEO, piano player, clam digger, and technical writer.The book is a journal of a car/bicycle/camping trip from California to St. Louis and back, but Macy promises that “if it starts sounding like one of your brother-in-law’s boring slide shows, I will stop this book, and we’ll turn around and go home. I mean it.”Interspersed with the journal chapters, you'll find thought-provoking life tips, stories from the past, and descriptions of Al's wacky inventions. You’ll hear poignant anecdotes about what happened when doctors discovered a golf-ball-sized tumor in his wife’s brain and how everything they owned burned.Here's an example of one of those chapters:Chapter 47 - Puking in a ThunderstormHere’s a mishap that illustrates the saying “You’re on an adventure when you wish you were home wishing you were on an adventure.”In 1982, Lena and I were visiting her folks in Sweden, and we went on a ryggsäcksfotvandringtur. To speak Swedish, all you do is take a bunch of English words, screw around with them, and squeeze them together. For example, in the big word in the last sentence, the only real foreign part is “rygg” which refers to one’s back. Other than that it’s just “Back - sack - foot - wandering - tour,” meaning “wandering around on foot with a pack on your back,” or “backpacking.”Apparently we have 1,019,729.6 words in English (.6 really?). In Swedish, the total depends on how you count them. Is "ryggsäcksfotvandringtur” one word, or just five words stuck together? Most Swedish dictionaries have around a half-million entries, but if you count words that are Velcroed together, it has many more.Speaking of Velcro, it was discovered when Georges de Mestral went for a fotvandringstur, and noticed the burrs that stuck to his pants. The word “Velcro” was added to our dictionary in the year nineteen something-or-other. I’ve learned that the phrase “Velcro forehead” refers to the overly dramatic gesture of tilting your head back and holding the back of your wrist against your forehead (”Oh, woe is me!”). Can you tell that I’m worried that this chapter is too short, and I am desperately looking for stuff to add?So anyway, where was I? Oh, yeah, Lena and I were on a short backpacking trip in the mountains of sweden. On our route to the more desolate sections, we passed houses that had sod growing on the roof. And when I say sod, I don’t mean the neat, well-mowed stuff you buy at the nursery. I mean long messy grass, other small plants, cuckoo birds, and gophers. And these weren’t museum displays put up for tourists, people were really living in these things. It’s where we get the saying “People who live in sod houses should throw stones, but no stones from the roof, please.”This was a great place to foot wander, but when we were the farthest from the car, Lena got sick (really sick), and both Lena and the heavens opened up at the same time. It gave me a case of Velcro forehead, and my main memory of that trip is of continually taking tiny plastic snack bags of vomit out and dumping them in the streams of water surrounding the tent.Luckily Lena’s Scandinavian constitution won out over the bugs, and the next morning she was all better and ready to drag me home, out of the wilderness. So, we had a general good time despite the puking adventure.If that kind of humor appeals to you, you need to buy this book. And if you're still on the fence, please use the Look Inside feature or download a free sample to your Kindle.